You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I Learnt Today: Genes, Plasticity and Intelligence

in Home Edders β€’ 3 years ago (edited)

I actually did want to question the guy on that but there were 100 people in the room and I was up the back πŸ˜‚ ...

It's amazing how much we do know about the brain as educators, though we might not understand the brain science that supports what we know.

Oh the other thing wasn't just the reputation, it was bringing it up. He used the example of ad jingles.. the reason we recall them isn't just because we heard them all the time, but we sung them out aloud.

Oh yeah... I KNOW I'm shit at ball sports but that's an excuse not to play. If I had training, I could be. But I will choose not to. But.. I always say to Jamie day at just because I've been shit at something doesn't mean that I can't learn, like the sewing machine example from last week.

Thanks for replying.

!ENGAFE 50

Sort: Β 

And there we have another mark against big class sizes. 100 is far too big! 😜🀣

Ad jingles are a fun example. There are so many ads that stuck in my heed, because they were fun or catchy, but I rarely remember whey they were for. πŸ˜† I guess this is where the realisation they we learn better when we enjoy what we're doing connects with repetition. We repeat what we enjoy way more than what we don't. Some real "aha" moments in all this.