Embracing the Chaos of Homeschooling

in Home Edders27 days ago

1.png

I've been distracted today. My pet cat's incision wound from her spay procedure opened up. In the morning it was still fine but it's showing signs that it's not healing well. I am observing her and watching her all day. Even if I have a pet patient today, our homeschooling journey needs to continue. And my mommy duties continue as well.

As usual, we start slow in the morning, then gradually picking up the pace as we go. During the mid morning break, I prep the lunch as fast as I could. I do as much as I can within those mini 5 minute breaks and 10 minute long breaks to prepare our food. I used to just order food but since I have a lot of health restrictions already in my food intake, I had to prepare them myself. Today, I cooked tinola and as I was cutting the ingredients, I had a good look at our kitchen table which doubles as our study area for now. We study where we feel like studying, and at the moment, we are comfy in the kitchen area.

2.png

I took a good look at the table while my daughter was doing her reading. I'd like to be in there with her, reading all of the books aloud to her as much as I can. But I figured, since she's asking that he read some of the books herself already, I have her read them aloud while I prepare our lunch. It works for both of us. She gets the sense of accomplishment of reading her study books and retelling them while I finish my morning tasks. She's doing great, by the way, with her reading. She is able to practice more reading and she's also able to narrate her readings so admirably. Just today, she retold me the entire chapter after she read the whole chapter itself.

Looking at our messy messy study area, I took a picture. I wanted to cherish the moment. I love the mess and I thought I'll miss it when my daughter is all grown up and already studying on her own. I love the order in the chaos. How we are still able to accomplish a lot even with everything going on around us.

I know that now, while I am struggling and sometimes just coping, I know that someday, when my daughter is living her own life, I'll be looking back at how messy and chaotic we are today. Because someday, the house will be too clean, the shelves will be in order, the floors will be clutter free. I won't be cramming too much to get things done.

3.png

So now, I am just admiring how life's happening to us right now. I am loving the juggling, multitasking, overloading. It makes me look forward to my afternoon quiet time where I just sit back, relax, sleep or read a book quietly in my corner of the house where no one dares disturb me.

I do hope that Sungit recovers well and fast. Right now, she's contained in her cage, I've dressed her wound, hopefully she doesn't break free from her cage again or remove her collar just to lick her wound. So that's it for now, I have a cat to nurse. Toodaloo!

20210422_124054.png

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  

Haha, what a cute name for a pet, Sungit!! Does she bear the name as well sis, Ms.Masungit!😍😍😄
Thanks po for curating my current post in the curangel curation project. When you receive recognition like this, it just makes you want to write more good, uplifting contents.
Grateful much!🥰

I don't think your reading area is messy po, it's just packed and crammed with lovely books, perfect resource of knowledge for your student.
Yah, I agree a beautiful mess Indeed!
Have a great day po with your only student! Dapat wag Masungit si Madam!😄😁😍😍

Masungit din talaga siya. As in. Pero di sya nagsusungit sa anak ko. Dahil si Aya ata ang napili ni Sungit na maging hooman mya. Haha.

Halo halo yung nasa table, mqy pansahog sa ulam, may pinag almusalan kasi nagsstart kami ng schooling habang nag bbreakfast eh. Pero mukhang ok naman. Naiintindihan pa rin naman ng little learner ko yung lessons despite the mess. Hehe

Ang galing nga sis eh no pag nasa bahay lang, you can have lessons even while eating... Hahaha
Naku sa school pa yan patay tayo Kay teacher!😊😄
So Sungit ninyo para ding si Luna namin, Masungit at talagang nangangalmot lalo page wala sya sa mood.... so grumpy kanunay!
Yeap, gets ng Stu mo yan sis, informal set-up. Dapat pala makita nya din pano ang talagang school classroom setting para she can compare and she will be grateful na sya she can be however she wants to be as long as she has to listen, pay attention.
Good job teacher-Mama!🥰♥️

Sobrang na aappreciate nya naman ang set up namin. Lagi kasama sa prayers nya at night na nagpapasalamat sya na homeschooled sya. Nakikita nya rin kasi sa mga pinsan nya yung struggle nila dahil sa restrictions sa traditional schools. Sa amin kasi, may boses sya at may say sya sa kung ano ang gusto nyang aralin at kung gusto nya muna mag break.

How old is your daughter? I really like the learning area! Are you the one teaching all those written topics from the Cartolina? Homeschooling is quite tough and I can see your eagerness to do this. Salute you for being a mom and a fur mom of cats. 🙌

She's 7 years old. And yeah, those on the makeshift whiteboard are some of the lessons we discuss. I'm merely presenting the books to her, she's the one doing most of the narrating and explaining. I correct her wherebit needs to be corrected but she's mainly the one who does the discussions.

Seeing your photos leads me to think and act that I need an area of the house where I have my books organized and it is a special study space for teaching my girls.

Greetings and blessings

I agreed to your opinion that home schooling is a good idea for our childrens to improve their weaknesses.

When children are trained so well at home, we will see them become more successful in the future.