My Daughter's Rock Collection From our Field Trips

in Home Edders23 days ago

Rock Collection (1).png

My daughter has formed a fascination towards stones and rocks. Whenever we go out of town, she would be on the look out for any interesting looking rocks that she may take home. This is why we had to make a box where she could showcase her rock collections for her next portfolio gala.

How does it feel like to have a daughter that loves collecting rocks? Well, it feels heavy. Literally. Because the first time she did this, she took home a whole lot of tiny little rocks and stones. When we got home and took a look at her finds, she realized that most of the rocks she took home look almost exactly the same as the ones we have at our tiny little garden. So she figured that next time, she will only take ones that really look unique to her.

Rock Collection (5).png

She learned to look, and I mean really look, to see the most unique ones she can find. Sometimes I hear her think out loud asking herself, have I seen this one before? She then takes her time to examine the details of the rocks she find. When she discovers something new, she would run to me and tell me all about it. I like how she seem like she is selling the rock to me with the way she describes it. Her excitement really shows whenever she finds something interesting.

When we get home from our trip, her next task would be to write about the rocks she found. She would write down the place where she found the rocks and would also describe how she stumbled upon it. Each rock she finds has different features and she is amazed by it. I would just throw the rocks into the river or sea just to check if I could make it bounce. LOL. But her, she finds it amazing and admires the different patterns she sees.

Rock Collection (3).png

It's a good opportunity for nature study. And the more she knows about nature, even the rocks and the dead corals she find, the more she appreciates nature and respects it. She even remembered how the corals change colors once it dies. And her concern for the fish that used to live on those dead corals was really touching.

I noticed that during our Batangas trip, while she was looking for stones to add to her rock collection, I see her picking the trash that she sees and puts it away from the shore. Seeing her take that initiative really warms my heart. I can see how much she loves mother nature and she voices out how disappointed she was with the people that are not mindful about where they throw away their trash.

Rock Collection (4).png

We made a box that would sort all of her rock collection based on where she found them and their size. I think. She was the one who made the sorting and arranging, I was just there to help glue the DIY boxes and watch as she works on her collection. Her father helped her with the cutting of the thick paper cardboards so it kinda looked like a family project.

I am excited to see her next rock collection finds on our next trip. How about you? Does your kid have a collection they are really raving about? Tell me all about it. Maybe my kid could also try other stuff to collect too.

20210422_124054.png

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Maybe she want to be a pretologist someday maam @romeskie cute🤗

She loves Nature I can see, and just you rightly said, this hobby would help her in the study of Nature and in the appreciation of it. Those who appreciate Nature would want to preserve it.

Wow those rock look so beautiful. This will really help you daughter to learn more about rocks

Wow! Ang galing naman. Ako naman shells. I saw a nice idea sa tiktok. Storage organizer siya na may mga small boxes, parang medicine box kind of storage na pwede lagyan ng shells or rocks na meron si daughter mo. 😇

It’s a good thing to see a little child who is learning so many things about rocks and she can even be able to write down all the things she learnt about
I’m glad about this progress and kudos to you!

I myself was very fond of collecting such beautiful stones as a child. When I was a child, I used to go to the river bank in the same way, and I used to pick up such beautiful stones.