Our Homeschooling Journey: Fun With Pizza

in Home Edders3 years ago

1.png

Last month, I joined @needleworkmonday's contest and created the crochet toy pizza for my little girl. She was very excited while I was still working on the pizza, she is even more excited to play with it. To her, it was just a simple game. But to me, it's my way of training her to exercise active listening, understanding instructions, and reviewing directions. If you have a toddler and are having trouble with how to do the teaching through playtime technique, this is one of the examples. (I used to have no idea how I can include some serious lessons in our playtime, now, it comes naturally.)

Pizza Delivery Game

Our game starts with a phone call from me, I am a customer in her pizza parlor, not too far away from my home. Actually, my location, voice, and topping preferences change on each call I make. We use our old phones (batteries removed) for our calls. She even has an opening spiel. After the phone "rings", she would go "Thank you for calling, may I have your order please?" I like how direct to the point she is with her business. No dilly-dallying with this one.

My goal is to make an order of pizza, each time with a different topping, just because. At first, she would "call me back" to ask if I could repeat my order so she would get it right when she delivers them. After a few runs, she acquired the skill of taking instructions, she was able to complete the order without having to ask again.

After she assembles my pizza order, she now proceeds to deliver the pizza to the delivery address. This time, we exercise map instructions and some road navigations. I deliberately drew the houses with distinctive shapes so she can easily remember where exactly she would deliver the pizza. She remembered where she would turn left or turn right, she remembered the landmarks I placed for each delivery place.

As an added practice of imagination, she made her own "pizza delivery car" using her blocks. She had lots of fun with our pizza delivery game until she felt tired of delivering pizzas. We called it a day for our pizza delivery business. There's only one thing left to do. Make a pizza because my little delivery girl got hungry.

No Yeast Pizza

Did you know that there is such a thing as no yeast pizza? I did not know this before. It's a good thing I know this now because this pizza recipe is just as yummy minus the waiting for the dough to rise. Once you're done kneading, just add the sauce, cheese, and toppings, bake, and you're good to go.

There are only three ingredients needed for this no yeast pizza recipe. All you need is about 2 cups of flour, a little bit of baking powder, water, and salt. The goal is to make the mixture clumpy and not runny so it would be easy to knead. If it's a bit too dry, you just need to add some more water.

Since my little one is still highly interested in the pizza-making business, I got her involved in the process. This time, she learned measurements, following instructions through the step-by-step procedure, and I gave her all the fun in kneading and punching the dough.

I couldn't make the pizza dough round, so I decided I'll make it fit the baking pan, in a rectangular shape. She wouldn't have it. She kept arguing that pizza should be round and that I should give it another try. I can see she learned the art of encouragement. In my defense, I only used a small glass canister as a rolling pin.

The only difference about this pizza is that it has no yeast in its dough. I pretty much added the same toppings available in the fridge. Bake the pizza as you usually do, about 200 degrees Celsius, for around 15 minutes, and the pizza is done.

8.png

And that's it for the no yeast, quick pizza. All in all, there's really not much difference, the crust isn't as fluffy as that with the yeast, but it tastes just the same. Needless to say, my little one had lots of fun with our pizza activities.

20210422_124054.png

@romeskie is a full-time stay-at-home mom to a homeschooling toddler. Loves crocheting as a hobby. Maintains a mini food forest, aiming to grow more to achieve that farm-to-table homesteading. Learned how to cook after leaving the corporate world to take care of her family and is now starting to acquire basic baking skills. Learn more about her adventures and misadventures in the world of motherhood.
Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter

Sort:  

Aba hanep ang paraan ng pagturo madam ha, kailangan mo ng pizza kaso wala akong mabigay. hahaha

May drawing pa ng location talaga tapos nagluto talaga baka hindi na mag study si Aya nyan. hahaha joke lang

Maganda ang ganyan madam para sa enhancement ng communication ng bata. Sinong hindi mag-aaral na bata kung tingin nya nakakalibang ito.

Hahaha. Ok lang Pau.

Uu. May pa-mapa pa si mayora para mas feel na feel ang pagdedeliver. Hahaha

madam pano paliitin yang letters like about you? laki kasi sakin eh.hahaha

Alin? Yung sa about the author na part ba? < Sub > dapat.

Oo, san ba ilagay ang hayop na < Sub > yan? sa taas ba at sa baba? Ayaw pa rin eh, hehehe

Minsan na nga lang mag blog ito kagad ang makita. Tsk kakagutom haha. Mukhang super enjoy kayo ni Aya-pot sa ganyang activity. For sure, if April and Dyn-dyn will be doing the same in the future they might enjoy this thing as well.

Still thinking, if i home-school namin ang babae or regular classes. Super hirap at pandemic days parin.

Hahaha. Natakam ka rin? Surely Dyn-dyn will also have fun sa mga ganitong activities.

Talagang homeschooling na ang choice namin even before the pandemic. Marami kasi siyang pros, it outweighs the cons. But siyempre, nangangailangan ng time at focus kaya ako nagresign din. But there are parents na kinakaya nila kahit both sila may work. Search mo ang mga options mo para makapili ka ng best model for Dyn-dyn's learning. :)

We are weighing pa kung ano ang best for her. True dami ng pros ng homeschooling plus we want to make sure na we are giving the best for her.

Mahaba-haba pa naman ang time bago yun mga 3 years pa siguro haha.

True dat! Ambilis ng panahon. Gusto ko makurot ang pisngi ng bebe na yaaaaan.

Sana matapos na ang pandemic bago pa man lumaki ang baby mo para mas maraming choices para sa learning, mas maganda.

How awesome is making pizza! Lil miss absolutely loved it too. And we often make little dough animals and bake them with the excess dough

I just recently learned that I can also make homemade playdough out of flour, salt and water. That's on the lineup for our activities in the next few days.

Super fun activity the kitchen is always full of much learning and certainly I have also tried the pizza dough without yeast and as you say it has the same effect only less fluffy. Thank you for sharing this beautiful cooking activity.

In a way, it's me trying to influence her into loving cooking and baking. So far, she's made cookies and pizza. And it looks like she's ready for more. 😊

Very fun activities for children, I loved the pizza delivery game, I think sometimes we try harder to correct bad results than to teach them how to get good ones, and I think we would save ourselves a lot of problems if we teach children to follow instructions well. Thanks for these strategies, best regards!

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 9000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Connect

Trade


@romeskie! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!

Thank you so much! :)