You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: KIDS' MOTIVATION: DO AWARDS HELP TEACHING?

in Home Edders3 years ago (edited)

I trialled an "end of year award" thing this year purely because I needed them to produce more work and our usual methods weren't available. Oldest was uninterested, the younger two did enough work to get their "awards" which will be dealt with when we return from vacation. The younger two asked if we could do it again last year so I guess I will actually have to make a record tracker (I just kind of did it by did they do their work that week or not last year as I only had to keep track for 1.5 terms) XD

We do also pay them pocket money for chores because we wanted to teach them about budgeting and the like and it was infinitely easier to do with an actual income. Their rooms are their problem (middle child is normally pretty good, sometimes I have to nag the boys to JUST CLEAN YOUR BLOODY ROOM BEFORE I CUT OFF YOUR INTERNET IT'S DISGUSTING), they each have an area of the house that they have to clean which they're currently getting paid for but the pay will stop (the need to do the rooms however will not XD) once they start getting decent income from elsewhere.

So there are situations where it can work.

Generally though as you've suggested and I agree with; if you have to constantly bribe people to do things that is a very strong indication that whatever system you're using isn't working.

Sort:  

nice examples, thank you!
yes,it can work, but it's matter of responsibility and explanation what is more important - the award or the process itself and goals of it

!ENGAGE 35

thank you!!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.