You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: UNSCHOOLING DIY: PAPER DOLL + ENGLISH CLOTHES LESSON

in Home Edders2 years ago

Ack, you beat me to it! Then again, I was also going to add some other words, such as jeans (джинсы), jumper (свитер), boots (ботинки), and a maybe a few others. There's also the matter of е/ё when it comes to pronunciation ("шёрт" sounds more like "short" than "shirt"), but then I'd be like the crab telling her children to stop walking sideways, because I have this nasty tendency to pronounce "thirty" as "thёrty" whenever I speak with a thicker-than-normal accent.

Sort:  

these Russian letters are my first experiment, I try to understand how it works for my son. When I was studying English, it helped me very much, though now many teachers are against it because sounds are different in Russian and English. There are pros and cons of this method, so I try to have my own experience, how it will work for my boy.

I didn't realise that's what you were doing with the Russian letters. It would be interesting to hear the pros and cons of that. It seems like a good idea from my perspective.