A MOVIE OR A BOOK?

in Home Edders21 days ago (edited)

What would you choose, guys?
I'm a bookworm, and I'll choose a book for sure.
A book gives us freedom to create our own world of what have been read in our head. Moreover, thus we're closer to the author's idea, and we can feel it better.

When we watch a movie, we follow the director's vision and his imagination. That's different. But without any doubt there are movie masterpieces of many books.

My son reads a lot of books, but I give him some great movies as well.
Some weeks ago I showed him a great Soviet movie made on the basis of Robeson Crusoe's book.


a moment from the Soviet movie

it was a great old movie with a great Soviet actor, we liked it much!
But....after the movie it's not interesting to read a book. Not so interesting, it's better to say.

The same was with Tom Sayer book. We watched a movie, and I realized that the book is left behind now.


a moment from the Soviet movie

But the book can give much more than a movie!

So this time I did the opposite.

We found a book "Adventures of Huckleberry Finn" in our library.
It was thick, more than 400 pages! little letters!
But my son liked Tom Sayer so much that he wasn't afraid of it, so we took the book.

More than 14 days, but he read it and it was great! Now he knows what Mark Twen's language is, how he writes, how he creates funny situations, and how he describes his characters.
The movie will miss it all.

Now AFTER the book we can watch a movie.
Only AFTER the book;)

What do you think?
What do you prefer?

Sort:  

We like to read the book first before we watch the movie. I personally prefer this and my daughter who is also a bookworm, agrees with me because she was so disappointed with how the story of The Little Mermaid was so different in the movie when she read the real story. We read Harry Potter first before we watched the movie too. Now, when there's a new movie, my daughter always asks me to check first if there's a book about it because she wants to know the full story first and wants to see how the author described the characters before she goes to see the movie.

Well, I think that this is a somewhat bigger question to raise than meets the eye.
Literally speaking, in either case, i.e. reading a book and watching a film that is based on the book, it is the human eye that plays a primary role, although it plays the most important role in reading the book.
When watching the film, the sense of hearing is also involved.
Watching the film is a much more live experience than reading the book.
It is also faster, not leaving so much room and time for the brain to think, which is possible when reading the book, because you can take your time.
Personally, I enjoy reading the book more, because it is more original, while some films have been adapted and changed so much from the original that are essentially a different thing, sometimes with inconsistencies and inaccuracies.

yeah, good addition, thanks
it's really so - we don't have time to stop and think while watching the movie. We can press Stop, but it's different
and year, it involves hearing as well, and we have a ready made picture for our eyes

OMG, I made a big mistake in my comment: I totally forgot audio books, which are based on the sense of hearing!

For site trading the book is better and more fun. Your imagination goes further.

Few movies could capture books ecency in such way that everyone likes, and usually when author describe in tiny details everything.

many authors don't allow to make movies based on their books, and I do understand them;)

and when decide to make, is disappointing. haha

I always used to prefer watching the movie first, because at one time the movie could never match up to the book, so it would disappoint you if you'd read the book first. Today some of the movies are so good that they don't disappoint you even if you read the book first.