COMPLEX READING FOR GEOGRAPHY STUDYING

in Home Edderslast year

How to learn geography at 7?
Of course, not using boring textbooks.
Geography appears in a school program at 5-6 grade, as far as I remember. Actually, I am not interested in the official program because I try to create my own one.
I think a kid can have general knowledge about the world structure much earlier.

I use complex reading for it, and it gives super results!
Actually, it's my own word for this process, but it shows it the best.
WHat is it?
It's not just reading, but also combination with other sciences we've met in the book.
For example, if we read about animals and their place of living, you don't just read "Lions live in Africa", but a kid should find this very place in the map.
And it touches all information about geographical objects we meet in books and encyclopedias.
Even when we read his favourite detective stories or other kids books, we can meet names of countries or cities, rivers, capitals anywhere. And we stop reading and find this place in the map.

It works SUPER cool!
We show that geography is not an separate science, it gives knowledge about life and the world we live in.
Moreover, it doesn't require separate lessons, it's just a part of reading process but visual memory gives its results, and the kid remembers a lot!

I used different geographical games as well.

We found different places compiting who was faster. We created a world trip making different ways from one country to another. It was fun, but complex reading works better for us.

And again about visual memory. It gives us 70% of everything we know, so when a kid sees something every day he will know it for sure.

It worked fine when I was a student. And now I see how perfect it works for my son.
Just a sheet of paper on the wall and in some days he will know it the best. Without boring studying and special activities.

So geographical maps are a part of his room now:)

Russia

World map

Crimea - our region

Sort:  

I teach my Geography to my daughter the same way. Whenever we read books like On the Shores of the Great Sea, we locate the country we encounter in the map and on the globe. I printed out a blank map too so she can write down the things she remembers and plot them on it.

Moreover, it doesn't require separate lessons, it's just a part of reading process but visual memory gives its results, and the kid remembers a lot!

I agree. Because education is a science of relation and when the kid himself makes the connections in his lessons, that's when they remember the most.

Geography could be one of the most challenging subjects to teach but this method of teaching makes it fun both for the educator and the student.

oh it's a nice idea with a black map!
I'll add it to our geography fun as well;)😍

This strategy is really great. It seems that the child is having a tour to different places with fun and excitement.

thank you! when we interfere some knowledge into our everyday life, they stay in memory much longer!

Nice share.

Screenshot 2023-06-04 at 3.09.01 PM.png

You Crack Us Up!

This Post Was Manually Curated by the FUN Curation Team.
Help reward #fun content creators by joining our curation trail on Hive.Vote.
Or Delegate Hive to @lolz.curate and earn LOLZ farming rewards.

Click to delegate 10, 25, 50, 100, or 1000 HP with HiveSigner.