HOME MARKET GAME AS A WAY OF TEACHING MATHS

in Home Edders2 years ago

Guys, how do you teach your kids Maths? Which games and methods you use?

My son doesn't like Maths, and I must turn on all my creativity to make Maths interesting for him:]
One of the best ways for us now is our Home Market Game.
Where do we use counting more than in shops, right?
And a kid should see that it's not just numbers in the paper he should count, it's a part of real life, and it helps us every day.

When I proposed him this game, his eyes were shining, and it was Bingo:]
In this game he is fond of counting:]

So we take any toys we have and create prices for them.

image.png

We even take a toy shopping cart to make our shop more real

image.png

And of course, money or something that can be used instead of them. We took real coins and money from a Monopoly game. They worked fine.

image.png

So we did all actions that we do in the shop, and then it was time for counting.

image.png

How much money doest it all cost?
How much money can you give?
Do you have enough money?
Will you get change? How much?

Many Maths actions in one game + imitation of real life and shopping.
After this game my son went to the shop by himself for the first time, and he knew what he had to do.

So it's an effective way to show Maths is really necessary, and it can be not boring and hard as in books.

Sort:  

Fantastic idea and definitely wonderful to help teach the kiddies maths. I'm struggling with reading but I've been informed that it is fine at 4 mainly just sounding out the words at this age.

oh, it's so early, don't worry, time will come, at 4 knowing letters is already very cool
when a kid has real INTEREST to letters, then reading comes very easy. I tried to teach reading before this interest came, and I waisted much time, but when time comes, he started reading very fast and easy, he started at 6, and now he is 6.5 and he reads faster than many 7 year old kids at school:] so don't wory

This is a great idea, I never thought of this before, now that I have seen you doing it I will also do this with my son. Have a nice day ahead.

thank you😉

You're welcome (^_^)

Congratulations @taliakerch! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 60000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

I agree with you, real life is the best teacher, and money as well:]