What Happens , When We Let Our Children, Create Their Own Learning Space

Today I attended a fiesta at the creative space that one of my daughters attends. I love to visit this place, it is nestled in amongst the mountains,down a very long and dusty track, that is not for the faint of heart. Which, just adds to whole beauty of it.

For, it is wild, out in these parts.

20230326_193803.jpg

Making it, the perfect place,for kids to be wild and the perfect place, where they can really let their imaginations run wild. It is amazing to see what they they are capable of doing, when they are allowed to actually do it. When ultimately you trust them.

20230326_154649.jpg

These photos, are all from this wonderful place. Where the kids designed and took part in the building constructs, that you see. In the picture above, if you look hard enough you will see the water slide they made. Making use of the pile of earth they dug up, to make their very deep and expensive fire pit, where they also like to test out their science experiments.

Using black polythene, on wooden planks with a hose running on the top, creating the perfect flow of water to slide down. Ingenious.

20230326_201726.jpg

There are quiet a few tree houses and shacks, scattered throughout the space.
Different dens and hang out spaces. It's such a joy to walk around and spot the various constructions. There are quite a few new ones, since I was last here.

20230326_201542.jpg

I love this wooden walkway, leading up to the wooden platform. It feels like you are on a great adventure, just by walking on it. I can only imagine, the adventures that the kids go on, whilst using them.

20230326_154458.jpg

There was lots of cake on sale, all which were vegan. I didn't take any pictures, as I was too busy tasting them lol. I can tell you, that the ones I ate, were very nice.

There was also these wonderful beeswax candles that some of the kids, including my daughter made. I had to buy some.

20230326_164706.jpg

The kids also get to play with clay a lot and use this potters wheel. Today, it was there for anyone to try their hand at and I couldn't resist. I have never used one before and I have wanted to have a go, for quite a few years now.

It was very meditative. I really enjoyed it, the feel of clay on my hands. Now, I want one. How great would it be, to make your own cups, plates and bowls.

20230326_154843.jpg

I never got round, to asking what this is going to be created into. But I was very impressed, by the workmanship, that I could already see. It's overlooking the very large fire pit so, perhaps it is somehow tied into that.

20230326_172918.jpg

What you see above, is in the central point of the whole space. Here is where the stage is, with a few extra shacks and climbing frames lying each side of it. Just cool places to hang out at.

20230326_154733.jpg

Up above, is the catapult, with various painted targets dotted above it. You have to sit in it and pull yourself back, as you aim and then fire off seed bombs. Yes you read that right, it's seed bombs that get fired from the catapult. This, I absolutely loved. I think every town, could do with.

20230326_154829.jpg

Finally, we have the art that was recently finished. The last time I was here, I helped a little with the construction. It was so great to see it completed, it is such a wonderful space. And it is used a lot, by all if the kids.

Every time I come here, I get so inspired, so, I can only imagine, what it is inspiring, in the kids that get to be here three times a week.

It really is, such a magical place.

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcX4JSV3cTPgexLgxZfFPkpqdm5FDQnjZqeewD5m9ajhHWHgMe8zQfUBt14j3Z7j9jKq4CWk9tK6RWfDG5Fr2zkn5Kn3p.png

Sort:  

Wow! What a great place for kids! I imagine the adults have fun too. This reminds me of a playground I took my kids to long long ago, in San Fransisco. It had been built by whoever wanted to build it. We took hammers and nails along with us, so my kids could alter it any way they wanted to. It also reminds me of my own kindergarten experience, where we had a building station, and we could play with hammers, nails and wood. I'll bet that playground is gone, and kids sure don't have hammers and nails in public schools anymore. The last school my kids went to, the parents would complain if their kids came home a little dirty. I'm so happy your daughter has this place to go to. It's fabulous.

That playground sounds amazing. It's really sad that the world is so focused on keeping everyone safe that they are really hindering our children's need to explore.
Here's to lots of dirty kids in the future lol xxxx

Greetings @trucklife-family, what a spectacular place, it has what it takes to have a great time and let your imagination fly creating with clay, I can imagine how exciting it must be to mold the cups and utensils; definitely a space created to develop creativity to the fullest.

Happy and blessed weekend!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @videoaddiction ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations your publication has been chosen among the best of the day.

KEEP CREATING GOOD CONTENT.

image.png

Thanks do much for the support xxx

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community

Thank you for the support I really appreciate it xxx

You mean the kids made those stuff I'm seeing there? Hope they're strong and good for them to use it without falling down. I love the courageous attitudes of the children for bringing up such ideas and also achieving it. Please back them up and ensure they do what they love. Children tends to reason at all times and are always ready to do whatever they think is good. Direct them and also give them the best. Most adults can't use clay to make any tangible things but you see those children do that. Thank you for the post.

Yeah they made them alongside some of the adults.
I was so impressed with what my 5vyear old made, using the pottery wheel.
It's so important to let our children explore xxxx

Yeah, it does help children when they grow up