You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good News, Bad News, Good News: A hack, P2P, and a white/gray hat

in #hive-engine3 years ago (edited)

I just read your message and I don't get it. This seems to have happened on the Hive-Engine Note Level. That's pretty far away from a HIVE Blockchain "incident".

The main node for Hive-Engine was directly accessed

That reads, Note Server security problem to me.

We know that. Does the outside world know that?

Perception is everything, and there's nothing like misunderstanding to screw perception. That's what I'm referring to when I say "proactive".

(And that's not even to mention whether everyone even understands what you just said, even here on HIVE.)

The name is Hive-Engine. Like I said, we know how it's related, but everyone who is not on HIVE, do they know?

And those who don't know, what do you think they'll assume? That it's an integral part of HIVE, or something completely divorced? I think the name association clearly suggests the former of the two.

Do we care if the outside world knows exactly what happened, and exactly how HIVE is totally insulated from Hive-Engine? Is that important to us? Or shall we leave it up to everyone's imagination (again, referring to those who are not "in the loop" here on HIVE)?

Tough question. Or is it? We've got everything to gain by being proactive - it's an educational opportunity, an opportunity to actually brag about how safe HIVE is. I'm sure everyone here is familiar with the concept of "spin". The "spin" is totally positive for HIVE, and it's totally true too! That's win-win if I've ever seen it.

And what do we have to gain by doing nothing?

Or should I ask, what do we have to lose?

Sort:  

Don't worry no one outside of Hive talks about Hive.

Also, I don't think a hack on a side project is a big blemish in Crypto there are ETH scams every day..

2nd layer/side chain mate and the world does not care about hive anyway

It will get lost between news about btc and ETH

2nd layer/side chain mate and the world does not care about hive anyway

It will get lost between news about btc and ETH

Did you even think about that before you wrote it?

If you don't have HIVE, you've got nothing.

And if you don't know how people make more this of kind of news, how they distort things, in order to hurt you, you haven't been around the wild, wild west of scammy wammy crypto for very long. The association exists, and it's up to us to be preemptive to avoid having people think it was something worse. I've said it so many times my finger hurts. :D

Think I'll leave it at that.