You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good News, Bad News, Good News: A hack, P2P, and a white/gray hat

in #hive-engine3 years ago (edited)

Sounds like a HE Note Security incident then, well that has happened to all of them at some point. An Exchange is an Exchange, has always been and will always be. Of course, it would be good if HE could take a 100k hit at some point, without needing your private funds.

I've been reading through all of the comments so far and I wonder why some people believe their Hive Wallet might have been hit. Are they out of touch with the reality of this technology or have plaintext Keys been leaked?

Sort:  

Take a close look at my case. Tx show I was commenting and upvoting in a 3 min span on either side of my "claim" rewards. I jumped from the page I was commenting on to claim rewards only to immediately jump back and upvote the post I was commenting on? Sounds logical as hell.

3 min time span: comment > claim rewards > upvote post.

And as I said in my comment, it wasn't on my "to do" list, nor do I remember doing it.

Must have done a one minute "sleep walk"?

BTW, how does this post start? crypto is a weird place?

Instead of belittling, maybe you might treat things a little more seriously. Or a 100 grand hack is no big deal and any other "weirdness" is out of touch with reality? You tell me.

EDIT: serious consideration wouldn't relate the two directly, rather indirectly: if someone was hacking HE, why not try to do the same on HIVE while they're at it? Or do you discard that as absurd too?

There are Hacks and Hacks, one can use a specific exploit and cause damage or just gain access to part of a system OR even open pandora's box.

I don't spend time on 'belittling' people, I try to check my understanding of reality by comparing it with others.

EDIT: serious consideration wouldn't relate the two directly, rather indirectly: if someone was hacking HE, why not try to do the same on HIVE while they're at it? Or do you discard that as absurd too?

Hive Engine is not really decentralized, even if it's already open source (besides deployment scripts I'd guess). That means full control over the Main Note, should be close to full control over the running system. Meanwhile, Hive is super decentralized, so if you gain full control over one of the main HIVE Notes, you are still just one of many and can't just change things.

The problem is that when there are people who are so defensive about coming out and clearly stating that in public as you just did, it makes people wonder if that's really true. As I've said, you and I know it, but the rest of the world doesn't, and the rest of the world is going to assume the worst, the opposite of what you just said, unless leadership here on HIVE actively starts proclaiming what you just said to the outside world.

I said it in few words to begin with: it's an opportunity to brag about how safe HIVE is (as well as to clearly educate on the difference between HIVE and HE, or any other 2nd layer token for that matter).

Hmm, you say Leadership as a call-to-action for maybe all the Top Witnesses?