You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Last Commission That Will Ever Look Like This

in #hive-engine23 days ago

Ella was very specific about how she wanted the painting to look.

Wasn't that a warning sign?

I make far less than $4.20 an hour blogging, which I also do for love. Now here you are, writing fabulous posts for peanuts. You are a glutton. Happily for me!

I buy art. I've never paid much for it though, the most I ever paid was $1000 for a fabulous piece. Now the artist, Lydia Viscardi, is finally making some real money on her art. Am I bragging? I feel like I'm bragging.

image.png

Sort:  

Very nice painting! No, you’re not bragging.
The most I ever spent on a painting was $835, and I did it because I thought I insulted the artist with my writing the week before. Not about his art, rather his academia.

“I make far less than $4.20 an hour blogging, which I also do for love”.

That’s my point! The commission was not a labor of love. It was labor, and I should have charged her at least minimum wage. Spine growing takes some time. I have 20 more years to make it rigid like a titanium stick.
Meanwhile, I also blog for the activity of it. If I’m writing, I hope someone is reading. Nickels and dimes are just added gravy, and also a good source of unclaimed income to reduce expenses in my poverty project:)