My Great Grandparents, Henry and Ruby

in #hive-engine28 days ago

Henry1900Tumblr.jpg
My Romantic Great Granddad 2014. Acrylic on canvas, 30 x 24"

HenryRuby1901.jpg

Great Grandparents on my father’s side. The patronym. I have Great Grandparents from my grandmothers too, but 5,000 years of male dominance (and control of all written history) believed the ladies didn’t matter much. Actually, I think it was just too complicated for dudes to handle all the name changes in a matriline.
Anyway, in the photo above, Henry Throop (my great Grandfather) holds the straw hat, and Ruby Niles (my Great Grandmother) is the first girl over his left shoulder (to our right). The picture is from 1901—a summer picnic in Lebanon, N.Y. Henry was home from Cornell, and Ruby from Syracuse University. Henry kept a journal and would write in secret code the very private stuff. I cracked the code. He had a crush on the girl directly above him in the photo.
Ah, the pain of unrequited love!
He married Ruby 3 years later.
And here I am!

HenryRuby1930.jpg
Henry and Ruby in 1930. I wonder if Ruby also settled:)

Either way, I’m very glad the union happened!

Sort:  

Congratulations @ronthroop! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP