You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opening up...

in #hive-engine2 years ago

Oh, darling girl, I can relate to this on so many levels!

It's beyond awesome that you sought out help (it too me much longer than it should have), and then took matters even further into your hands by finding your own ways of coping (60s obsession is definitely a cool way to go!). Reading this post, your strength radiated through your words and I'm so glad you shared this here, so those of us who have also struggled/are still struggling can know they're not alone.

Without writing a book of a reply (which I've been known to do 😜) suffice to say that it took a bad bout of postpartum depression for me to be diagnosed also with dysthymia (the one psychiatrist I saw said it sounded like it started in my early teens), generalized anxiety disorder, and mild ocd. I struggled on the chemical merry-go-round for years, then weaned myself off all the pills and struggled in a different way.

It does get better though, as you have shown through what you've shared. Good days follow bad, and connecting with people like you've done here helps as well.

Brightest of blessings to you, and know you can always shout out privately if you ever need an ear. 💜