The End Of My Money Printing Machine

in #hive8 months ago

Hello Hivers,

you may know, that I write weekly reports in different communities. There I post about statistics of Hive tokens.

The money-printing machine

I have been working on the collection of these stats for about three years now (Details see below). And yes, my motivation was to create a money-printing machine.

grafik.png

created with https://deepdreamgenerator.com

But is this reprehensible?
I can also create these stats by hand (and I still have to do some hands-on). People want to see them. I have been asked several times to enhance my stats also for other tokens and I denied it because I have no time for it (until the machine is finished). So there is a market for my stats.
A market means, there is a demand and I can supply it if I get a reward.
So I have no guilty conscience getting upvotes and earnings for it. Especially not, because of forwarding the revenues to my other account @anobel, which donates it to needy people (my actual motivation to create a money printing machine).

The Problem

Hive is a system that has no intrinsic value but the community. As with every system, it is worthless without a meaning, given by people (or other creatures with awareness). So if you want to compare $HIVE with $USD for example, it only gets $USD-value, as the first person starts to buy it with $USD.
If I want to create a sustainable donation system out of Hive, then I need to find people that bring in $USD, as long as I want to pay out people in need with $USD.
So even if my donation system, which I want to establish with @anobel, would work, it still dries out the Hive system, as long as no money comes in from the outside.

What has happened

In the last weeks, I got downvoted by @spaminator. I got punished for creating "spam" and "plagiarism". I put both in apostrophes because I don't see it as this.
OK, maybe spam, because I create a lot of double, static text. So I changed my template and deleted as many as possible unnecessary words. So, I should be clean with this.
But plagiarism? All my reports have valid, new, unique, clean content, that was created by me. I am responsible for every word, number and figure, even, when they come out of a script. I wrote these scripts and I am very proud of what I have reached.
So I started struggling with @spaminator on Discord.
He says, that I create text, which differs only in some numbers from other posts, which is plagiarism. For him, it looks like abusing the Hive system.
I explained my situation - and he listened to me (which I really appreciate!).
But we don't come together, because he has his filtering tools and I don't want to sacrifice my (in my eyes) good idea, that keeps me moving on so hard in the hive ecosystem.

grafik.png

grafik.png
Outages of Discord

Short Excursus: How do I create my Reports

I have created batch scripts, that read some content from hive Engine and put it into an ElasticSearch database on my local RaspberryPi:
grafik.png
I have configured Kibana to create some beautiful figures from the data, figures, that take out messages.
In earlier times I copied and pasted them into the reports by hand (which was a huge amount of regular work). But now I have enhanced my developer skills and coded a Javascript program with Selenium, which does this annoying job for me. So only a few hand movements are left to do.
My code is public on github.

Stalemate

And now?

In the end, I can go on and just ignore the downvotes of @spaminator. He is not almighty. But is this the solution?
I laid down all my options. I made a piece of paper:

grafik.png

I told my wife about it. I prayed about it.
And yes, during my prayer I got a warm feeling about the following idea:

I create one report per week, that is added with some free text, and take the rewards for it and send them to @anobel.
For all other reports, I accept his "option C" not to get rewarded any more. I am going to work "for free" for that.
This destroys my dream of the money-printing machine, but I accept this, because I agree now, that this dream doesn't work (as I do it right now). (I have another, better idea for my machine, that hopefully brings in some money from the outside.)
I will add an ask to establish auto-upvotes for my accounts (to get at least some rewards with other posts). I will donate 100% of the rewards to Hive-Fund for these reports. This should bring me out of the target for the downvotes.
This has the following consequences:

  • Disadvantage:
    • I still work, but only get a small part of my earnings
    • My dream of my money-printing machine is over
  • Advantages:
    • The reports go on
    • I don't get downvoted
    • I will win a reputation in the community
    • I stay "friends" with @spaminator and the people, that stand behind him
      (I also stand behind him and the idea to stop spam and plagiarism.)
    • I don't weaken the hive system

Conclusion

I hope the struggle with @spaminator is over now and I can concentrate on new features for my donation system with @anobel.

Regards, Achim Mertens

Sort:  

It's completely understandable to sometimes struggle with the coherence. Donating the revenue from your posts to charitable projects is indeed a valid and admirable option. Is it fair game for spaminator?
It's a wonderful way to give back to the community and support causes you care about.

Is it an option toenhancing your reports with different topics related to finances or other subjects using ChatGPT. This can add variety and depth to your content, making it more engaging for your audience.

  1. Generate report
  2. Add fancy ChatGPT wisdom on finance
  3. Re-view before posting
    (4. build model to automate step 3)

Thank you for your kind words and kudos for the reports! Keep up the great work and continue making a positive impact with your contributions. !ALIVE 💚🌟

@achimmertens! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ ben.haase. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Thank you for the reply. Yes it would be possible to create some "artificial free text" in each report. But I don't like this. I want to "earn my money with a clean heart :-)".
No either they accept my report or not.

I'm found your charts pretty useful! I even thought about updating it a bit with Pandas in Python.

Sad to hear that you got in the cross hire of the spaminator. Where are those other report authors then? You're the only one which listed the name of market actors. With other words, I'm not mentioned in another reports.

Hier das Token-Feuerwerk. !ALIVE !LOLZ & !DHEDGE

PS: You could add to your schedule post a little financial wisdom or quote, would that be fair game for the spaminator than?

@achimmertens! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ master-lamps. (7/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

How do you look for Will Smith in the snow?
Just follow the fresh prints.

Credit: reddit
@achimmertens, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of master-lamps

(3/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

Thank you. Yes it would be an option to put in some "financial wisdom". But this is not was the report is invented for. I don't want to create free text for every token every week. The figures and numbers are self explaining.

I am one of your chart readers. I found them useful, but I don't understand a thing. Did you make the same posts on different communities?

Yes. But with different tokens and therefor different content. But the template is the same.

So I also don't understand the report, but I'm a simple user

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @master-lamps! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus

@master-lamps has 9 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.