3 years on HIVE blockchain (Hive OG in the making)

in #hive7 months ago (edited)

Slex Rourke 3 year anniversary on HIVE.png

I should have started sooner.

Many people probably feel this way, but I really wish I would have.

Why?

Because I probably would have figured out HIVE sooner and would have started building and strengthening the community sooner.

It is what it is.

Let me tell you a little bit about how it happened.

April 2019

My studio, Recording Box, was barely a year old.

I was still figuring out how to find clients. One of the bands that would often come rehearse at my studio was named Jog Shuttle. The singer and guitarist named Ted came up to me after rehearsal and told me it might be a good idea to talk to a friend of his. His name was Ijatz and he was part of a project called Musicoin, that helped musicians monetize their music through something called cryptocurrency.

I was like… oh that thing they call bitcoin or something?

yeah, something like that.

So I agreed to meet with @ijatz

I showed up about 30 minutes before the agreed time. He's a European guy so I didn't want to be rude by showing up late. I ordered some coffee, sat back, and waited.

When the time came, I looked up and saw this amazingly happy human being. He was so full of energy and greeted me with a high five followed by a fist bump and a twirl. It was the coolest way of meeting somebody I had ever experienced.
meeting Ijatz.png

He told me about the Musicoin project and explained a little bit about how blockchain technology worked. he said, you know, there’s this place, it’s like a forum where you can blog and interact with other members and earn some cryptocurrency in the process. It’s called Schleem.

Being the business-minded guy that I am, I thought Why not use this as an avenue to post some of the work I do with recording artists. I’ve got YouTube, SoundCloud and now I have this Schleem thing-a-majig.

And while this WAS a great idea. nobody knew who I was. I wasn’t really a member of the community. I was just someone behind a recording studio name.

My very first post earned me a big fat zero HIVE! hahaha

My posts eventually earned something, but I still felt so anonymous.

So I decided to make my own account and start from scratch.

October 2020

I sat down and started coming up with ideas of what to call myself. I had an avatar I used for years named Event Horizon. Why don’t I call myself that?

Alex Rourke self portrait for HIVE.png

Nah, I already used that one. Maybe I’ll make up a new one, something more bad ass!

  • Death Defiant
  • Triple X
  • Viserion the mighty

Samurai in armour.png

Whoa! settle down there Scooter! someone is compensating!

I threw all those ideas out the window and asked myself, why not just use my regular name?

I checked for Alex Rourke, and sure enough it was available, so I went with that.

Ok, now what am I going to talk about? I’m not a celebrity, I don’t have an incredibly interesting life. I’m not an influencer that travels to exotic destinations with amazing cameras or drive fancy cars. Why would anybody want to follow me. I’m not a YouTuber, damn it! and I’m definitely not a writer.

Well, what if I’m just myself? What if I just talk about what I do, what I like and maybe I’ll make some new friends and get a little better at blogging in the process? Doesn’t hurt to try, right?

And that was it!

That was the first step needed to be part of a community. Just show up, be honest about who I am and what I do and listen to other folks, of course. I started sharing pictures of my garden, and my BBQ grill, and sure enough I started meeting like-minded people who I could discuss a particular topic with, a particular genre of music or just tell jokes. I also met people I didn’t have things in common and that was OK too. We’re human and we’re all a little bit different.

This was the beginning of my journey in the HIVE ecosystem.

Now all of that was fun: meeting new people on yet another social media platform where I could learn about nerdy stuff and maybe earn some cryptocurrency that I could later cash out. Or was there more to it?

Yes, there was more

This was right around the time the whole alien invasion happened and conversations were being had about decentralization and governance. People were fighting Justin Sun and each other, communities were muting members, bots were running amuck; it was chaos, lol. But the community managed to break away from Sun Yunchen and settle it its new home, full of uncertainty, but also full of opportunity.

Developers kept working hard and making improvements to the blockchain and hard fork after hard fork, core dev meeting after core dev meeting, things started improving.

I also started changing. I become more interested in getting involved and using my voting power to help decide the direction of our blockchain. I started doing more research about who the top witnesses were and I decided that I needed to gain as much hive power as possible to make my voice heard within the community and to have some curation power with folks who I considered were adding value to the ecosystem.

And this is where I am now. Just a regular guy with a small business and absolutely zero coding skills, but with a lot of love for HIVE, 3 years under my belt and an 8-year, no-powerdown plan until 2030.

I'm here for the long term you guys.

I'm here to BUIDL, help those that are new to the ecosystem, vote for our witnesses and fight if the time comes.

I'm a HIVE OG in the making.

It's quite convenient that my 3 year Hive anniversary is around the same time as my actual birthday, because I'm going to celebrate another year on planet Earth this weekend.


Images created using Mid Journey
Image of Justin Sun is from CoinGape.com

Sort:  

What a story man! Wow! Happy Hive Birthday and Happy IRL Birthday too haha! Very cool to have them both at the same time :) Greetings from Prague!

@tipu curate 2

That way I don't forget either one 😄 Thank you very much my friend.

Yeah, that´s cool. I´m actually thinking about opening an account here for my daughter on the day when she is born (should be in 3 to 4 weeks from now)

No way! 🙌🎉congratulations! wow! you must be excited. Looking forward to hearing the news :) That would be an amazing gift that could very well change her life.

Hi. @starkerz mentioned you. I am looking to partner up with someone to move my social media to HIVE properly and use the centralised social media to bring people over, with the help of AI. Please contact me. (You can email [email protected])

Hey there, sending you an email now.

Email bounced back, I'll try Telegram.

Love this. I feel my journey here has had many similarities. Though my real name isn’t @buttcoins 🤪
I’ve always seen it hive as kind of my public diary. Sharing bits and bobs of the real me.
I spent so many months .01 cent posts, months of nobody paying attention.
For me it never mattered so much, my post offerings were as much about me and my creative journey and if others wanted to check it out, then cool.

Thanks for sharing @alex-rourke

Hive has been great practice for writing. Yeah, I guess it can be a lot like journaling. I'm glad you didn't get discouraged by those .01 cent posts haha 'cause we're going to make it! See you at the lake soon!

@alex-rourke
Hey m8,
Just got some interesting news. I’d like to chat directly with you quick.

Sending waves your way brother!

Wow, 3 years is already a long time. I started in the Hive blockchain in 2021 but mostly played Splinterlands. I only ever got to the blogging side of Hive in September 2022. So while I might be 2 years in Hive, I have only been blogging for 1. This community is great and I look forward to more of your posts.

This community is awesome!

I only really make a blog post when I have something to say, otherwise I spend most of my time threading short-form thoughts on inleo.io.

Weeks turn into months, months turn into years... See you in 2030.

Oh that's cool. I haven't really used inleo threads before. Maybe it's because I'm not a big twitter user, so it doesn't appeal to me as much. It is nice that you're enjoying it.

Happy anniversary! Nice story you have with Hive. I found about it from a friend who never joined the platform.

Hey Adrian! This is only the beginning! I'm openly stating I'm an OG in the making because I'm building day by day, post by post and vote by vote. My plan is to slowly grow in order to contribute to the decisions and culture of the HIVE community with significant stake on day.

A very Big Congratulations 👏👏
Happy hive anniversary

Woohoo! Thank you so much!

You are highly Welcome

3 years is great, man! You've been here twice as long as me. You've seen a lot more of the Hive than me. Like that sun thing XD I always wish I had joined Hive earlier too. I wish I was as old as you. My life could have changed sooner.

I was listening to Task this morning and he got started just like all of us. A bit earlier maybe, but he started with 0 HP, just like you and me. Look at where he is now.

Baby steps my friend. WAGMI.

The Sun invasion was confusing, not going to lie haha. But it makes for a great story too.

WAGMI, I just learned that acronym and I'm gonna use it. Yeah man We all going to make it. Like you said, we just need time. I invested some in Hive soon and I keep building my account.

Sun tried to hurt us but he made everything more legendary XD

You have really come so far. 3 years has been a long journey and for one to still be here, that means your consistency skill is really huge and high

It sure has! It's longer than some, but there are folks that have been here twice as long as me :)

Yes sure that is certainly. But nevertheless, yours is worth to be celebrated. Hands up for you

Brother, congratulations and happy birthday 🎂 hehe... Being in Hive is the best and even more so when you find friends to have a good time, I'm glad that's your case too. May there be many more years and I wish you that the Hive rises to the moon 😎 (I wish for me too) 🤣 and for everyone...

Thank you brother!

It's been absolutely amazing! Hive rhymes with "five" so don't be surprised when we see a $5.00 HIVE on Coingecko 🙌

I'm glad that your three years here was fun and really amazing
I wish you more years on here
I'm sure you will enjoy it more

Thank you kindly Rafzat, same to you.

PIZZA!
The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Congratulations @alex-rourke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 2750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2023

Congratz on the 3 years

I made it to 6 years ( almost can't believe it ), late June of this year.

Awesome story!

Nice to see someone else brave enough to use their real name as their account name ;^)

Cheers,

Vincent