You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Time to Decentralize

in #hive4 years ago

I am also not tribalistic. As an academic, I enjoy discussing systems and their properties.

I know it's not the time now, because you are busy moving your infrastructure to HIVE. But when you do, if you could have a read and share your thoughts?

Sort:  

Using a form of reputation to enhance influence has been definitely on my radar as a potential mitigation, though the current rep system we have is not suitable for this for a myriad of reasons. I'll definitely get back to you later with some more thoughts!

Thank you @anyx! Much appreciated!

Interesting idea. I agree with the other comments that accurately determining reputation is the hard part. For example, post rewards have a difficult time actually determining valuable content... I feel like we can't solve rep until we solve this problem first.

I have long thought that implementing something inspired by a 2nd price auction for rewards in conjunction with a superlinear rewards curve (to discourage stake-splitting) would go a long way towards solving the valuation problem.

Unlike today's system where a voter can maximize curation rewards by voting at maximum strength, an algorithm inspired by a 2nd price auction could drive high-powered voters to self-limit their own voting strength to accurately match the perceived value that they place on a post. Otherwise, they'd wind up wasting their voting power.

Among other places, I wrote about that in Simulating a Steem curation rewards distribution that is modeled after a 2nd price auction