Steem and Hive

in #hive4 years ago

To be honest, the whole hardfork situation happened without me taking much notice. COVID-19 and home office took most of my attention over the previous weeks. So I still need to do some reading on the whole story. Especially in regards to any changes to the programming libraries.

From what I gathered I'd just need to change the node list. But I'll see what else needs to be changed.

Steem Bots

For now I'll support both Steem and Hive with my bots.
My curator bot aicu should go live on hive over the coming days. Regarding my splinterlands bot, I'll see where Splinterlands will go.


Other Projects

Both of my bots will step to the sidelines in the near future because I'll focus more on other projects. The splinterlands bot will be more affected than aicu the curator. But all of the new projects will be steem/hive related.

Splinterlands Project

One of the new projects will be a splinterlands website. It will be build around the simulator which I wrote for my splinterlands bot. It will provide a easy way for normal users to play around with the simulator. Alongside the simulator the website might offer other service, like a delegated playing service. But I won't promise that for now.

Dapp Game

My other project will be a DAPP Rogue-like. Originally planned around the Steem blockchain, but now I'll wait how things are developing with both steem/hive. I'd love to integrate both steem and hive into the projects. But I'd need a functioning non-fungible Token. And for now there's just the steem engines solution. Which would work, but I'm not certain how their stance is on the hardfork. So I'll wait until things have cleared up.


Steem Silver Gold

Originally I started my steem journey with steemsilvergold. And considering that I haven't posted there in ages I need to fix that sooner rather than later. Sadly my lighting setup is broken, so I need to improvise a bit. But I picked up lots of coins over the last months, and I'd love to share them, so stay tuned on that front :) I'll probably crosspost them on both steem and hive.

Closing thoughts on the hardfork

Personally I wasn't thrilled that justin sun bought steemit and its stake. In theory Justin Sun could have been a good fit to steem because he's very PR focused. And that's what steem was lacking imo.

If that's still a positive depends on how people will behave in face of the hardfork. If the whole community leaves steem behind, then not so much. But from what I gather the majority of the community isn't religiously following either project. They just want a platform which rewards them and allows them to blog. And both steem and hive do that.

I'm curious how both communities will develop from now on. I don't think both will thrive. In the long run only one will stay on top. Because both offer a service which is very similar. So long.

Sort:  

Welcome on hive bauloewe.

I am especially interested in the splinterlands bot you built and playing around with it. I have very little experience with Python so I have had a crazy time trying to deploy your code. Will you be adding a Read Me anytime soon to make it easier for people like me?