Heroes of the Revolution

in #hive4 years ago


Source

Face it, we admire our heroes. Be they on the sports field or in politics or on the battlefield or in everyday life.

From my way of thinking a Hero of the Revolution isn’t the one (s) that have the revolutionary ideas, or even the ones that convince the masses to support the cause.

The heroes are the ones that get down and dirty in furtherance of the cause. In sports, they are the ones that pave the way for the touchdown or goal or score. On the battlefield they are the ones that understand that only by being ready to fight and die can the cause go forward and make that trade routinely.


Source

They are the ones that man the barricades and take the tear gas or high pressure water. Be it social justice or social change there have always been those who sacrifice their time and reputation and freedom. Think about it: #metoo started with one woman bravely telling her story knowing there would be implications. The Civil Rights Act didn’t start with Martin Luther King, it started with a little old lady who refused to give up her seat.

Are we in a revolution? I think we are. Certainly Hive is the response to unfair treatment at the hands of rich folk in search of command and control. Will it ultimately succeed? Way too early to tell.

Whether or not this revolution that is Hive succeeds is not for lack of heroes in the very early going. We all know some of the leaders but I’m thinking of the people on the barricades.

People like @snook. She’s posting with grace and dignity (well, maybe dignity is too strong for some of her posts :) ). Saying things that need to be said in a way that is enlightening and non threatening while gently guiding us down the path.

Like @soyrosa. Tirelessly taking people by the hand and guiding them through whatever maze they are currently mired in. I am not the only one to have benefitted from her patience and grace in a time of crisis. She knows precisely how to ‘work around’ and is utterly willing to share that information.

Or @crimsonclad. Not only does she get dirty with the code and testing (and witnessing) that is absolutely vital to this ongoing revolution but she takes the time and effort to explain and moderate and take care of about a zillion people. I’ll bet she routinely gets 1000 DMs on some days, and she answers every one. Her Saturday MSP show is like a little breath of sanity in a world gone crazy.

These are my Heroes for this week. I know there are lots of others. If you want to show your heroes in the comments, fine. If you want to write a post about them, even better. Just please do not let the heroes of this revolution go without thanks. It’s way too important.


photo courtesy of the author

Because every post I right should have a motorcycle in it, that's why. This one is a pretty rare Ariel single.

Thanks for reading this, and even way more, thanks for supporting the revolution!

Sort:  

@bigtom13 ---> you are one of my heroes, first, last and always ... and have been since the first day I "met" you through something you wrote. It likely wasn't as inspiring as this ... but you get the message. Keep calm and carry on. (Like we have any choice.) <3

I honestly don't know how to respond to that. I don't take 'attaboys' well and just the thought that I could have even a teensy impact on you just turns me to jelly.

Thank you.

I've been trying to catch up with you. Hope all is well, give me shout sometime if you will.
Sult

Thank You!

I am honored beyond words.

HUGS

Just keep being yourself. (Where have I heard that before??)

HAAAAAAA

from an old woman that lives in a shoe?

HUGS

You don't, you can't know how much aloha you give to me. And knowing that I'm just as common as an old shoe, to others. Many others.

You are a hero of the revolution. Plain and simple.

Kuddos to you for shouting out these fine folks. Great to see you haven't lost your touch with creating a very fine piece of work.

Thank you. It's good to be back. Wait. I guess I'm not back if it's new... I may have to ponder on that for a while.

why the communism symbol at the beginning?

It's not really a symbol of Communism, it's a symbol of USSR (certainly a communist system) whose highest honor was an award called "Hero of the Revolution". Since that system is dead and buried I felt fine with 'appropriating' their award.

Hey, I am so glad you made it over to Hive! It is definitely going to be really interesting to see what happens.

I very much appreciate these lovely words about me Tom, and I love reading the ones you shared about @snook and @crimsonclad as well <3 They are troopers!!! Love having you here on Hive with us <3