Sort:  

Thanks, appreciate the encouragement words. The thing with this piece is that the second part has some really weird chord shapes, which are putting the left hand a t work, as you observed. But the most difficult part, at least for me, was the fingerpicking pattern, it's playing very fast all the first three strings, with a focus on the thin E. I think it took me about a month to get the gist of it.

From watching your performance there appears to be a lot of upward movement on your right hand. It seems you are plucking up more than plucking across the string. I think making an adjustment to plucking across the strings will likely make the right hand execution of this piece much easier to perform.

Here's a link to Segovia playing a technical piece emphasizing the right hand. His performance is crazy fast but you can get a good idea of how to hold your right hand and and how little movement it takes to pluck each note

Thanks for posting this, I know exactly what you mean. Segovia is famous for promoting nails into classical guitar playing, and, along with them, a more direct way of plucking, which results, it's true, in less effort and movement of the hand over all, because all motion is carried by the upper side of the fingers. I don't have nails, though, or at least not the amount needed for this time of plucking, so what I do is plucking with a combination of flesh from the top of my fingers and a bit of nail. I would say 70% flesh, 30% nails. This specific type of plucking requires a different movement, I'm almost pressing the strings to the inside of the guitar.

Here's a very detailed video explaining the differences:

If find the video quite interesting and very informative. As I was studying the classical guitar my teacher was definitely an advocate towards the Segovia method and while we worked on pieces by Sor, Tarrega, Carcassi and others I was totally unaware that these composers advocated having no nails on the right hand. As noted in the video unless your nails are trimmed to the flesh there are instances where depending on tonal and dynamic preferences all flesh or some nail as in your case can be applied which makes for a broader scope of tone and dynamics as a result.

Such great tools we have available today truly expediting are ability to hone our skills and broaden our knowledge base.

I learned years ago that Steve Howe from Yes doesn't have nails on his right hand. I believe much like with the left hand finger tips a slight callous builds aiding the fingertip in striking the string.