Hourly Hive Engine Backups Available!

in #hive3 years ago

servers.jpg

As I've been running my Hive Engine witness I've ran into issues, particularly when we have updates from git, and quite often the solution is to fully restore my entire environment.

Fortunately, we do have some backups available out there, but they are generally a few days to weeks old and these restores literally take HOURS sometimes so anything to speed that up would be greatly welcomed.

With this in mind, I've decided to deploy my own backups with new a new dump every single hour so your restore is about as fresh as possible.

Backups URL - http://www.heblocks.com/backups/

My file naming has the date as yyymmddhh, so the date and UTC hour.

I've deployed these backups on an entirely separate system, so I am technically running two witness instances now, though this one is "witnessEnabled: false" just so I can run these backups without impacting my live witness.

Please try pulling down one of these backups and restoring your environment to let me know if you see any issues. I've already deployed several new test environment using the backups and it went quite quickly. I think I may write an entirely separate post about deploying a new witness and restoring from these backups.

Please share your thoughts and let me know if there's anything more I could do here. This is sort of phase one, I'd like to go a lot further and continue supporting Hive Engine and building more useful tools for the community.

If you support my work I would deeply appreciate your vote for me as a Hive Engine Witness. I lost several large votes over the past few months so I'm working hard to restore your trust and move up the ranks some so your support would be deeply appreciated.

Sort:  

Congratulations @blervin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 64000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!