Why Hive is the perfect cryptoCURRENCY, not a 🌕 coin.

in #hive • 4 years ago

Hello everyone,

Today I had some Shower Thoughts about HIVE, and what makes it so special. Here are some reasons that I believe HIVE is a great candidate for a true CryptoCurrency rather than a digital asset.

Of course, this is not financial/investment/(any type of) advice. These are purely showerthoughts, I haven't gone and checked these ideas in practice, so feel free to cororect me.

Inflation

Hive printer go brrr forever. You might see this as a negative, but on the contrary, it means that Hive will always be generated and thus new Hive should become available for purchase on the market, this should keep Hive at some level of affordable, meaning that sell pressure will continue to exist, allowing new users to join and stake enough Hive tokens to use the network effectively. You might say "but I want Hive to Moon", I'm not saying Hive won't moon, in fact I belive that it is waaaay underpriced at the moment, due to the utility of the network, but I think Hive will stay affordable enough to allow new people to join.

Usability

Sure, we have a way to go, but we have:

  • Easy to remember usernames
  • Extendable Functionality
  • A Blockchain which doesn't require Blockchain Developer level Knowledge to make use of it, thanks to the wide array of libraries allowing you to easily use it.
  • "Free" Transactions

I had a lot more than this while in the shower, but my brain has gone blank.

Thanks for Reading,
~ CA

Sort:  

Usability And Use cases

easy to remember? who are you again? cowdog?

It's at the top of the post, @redhobo! I can't believe you can't remember it!

Inflation is problematic unless we get more users to join. Alternatively, we need natural ways to burn tokens through certain types of transactions.

I thought maybe people could use Hive as a currency without having to use the social media, but you need to sign up for a social media account to have a wallet, unless you use an exchange wallet.

Fair points. I think that both of these concerns could be solved in the future hopefully by the Hive team!

I agree! We have only just begun to see what hive can do. I think we’ll get way more games here. Splinterlands and dcity let people earn a real income and many more will follow.

Free transactions is a vital part of this. Games need those super small transactions.

Yeah. Without "free" transactions, micropayments would be near impossible. I think this is one of the few chains where sending the smallest possible unit of the coin still works (0.001 Hive)

!BEER


Hey @cadawg, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I am extremely impressed with Hive and the complexity yet simplicity of it all.

Yeah, same!

What I am hoping is for hive value to soar high just like sbd in 2017

Haha 🤞