Hive is bringing back what Steemit Lost!

in #hive4 years ago

Time to dust off the ole keyboard and make my first post on Hive!

image.png

Image Source

It's been a little over a year since I stepped away and stopped posting on Steemit. With my move back to the states, I just found less and less time to spend on creating and writing new content. I even deactivated my witness account as costs were beginning to be more than my actual earnings, and because I had no source of income for the first several months after I moved, it was very difficult to continue to maintain without burning out.

image.png

Image Source

Luckily, after a few months, I secured a job and began a new career, but that took me even further away from having free time to spend writing and producing content. Being the new person on the team, meant having to spend more time establishing and proving myself.

Skip ahead roughly 1 year and a shift to a new career, when one of my old friends from Steemit reaches out to me and tells me about the recent fork resulting in the creation of Hive. I gotta admit controversy drives intrigue and I spent the past couple of days reading everything I could about what happened - I literally stopped paying attention and did not know what was going on. It piqued my interest and from everything I read about the hostile take-over of Steemit and ultimately the power grab that seemed like an attempt to centralize control and power of a decentralized platform led me to Hive.

I admit, initially I was attracted to the coin drop - which duplicated what I held on the old platform and gave me the added bonus in value, however, after checking out what the community has achieved and built in such a short amount of time is amazing. What's even better is that Hive is truly centralized because there are no ninja-mined coins that are held and owned by any single entity.

It's great to see how many of the original friends and witnesses that I was once close to have continued to thrive and grow and have made the shift and move over here. I'm excited to see where this blockchain goes and as much as I can, will try to support and rejoin the community. Most of the communities I was once a part of our moving over and I think the rebirth and new energy that Hive brings will make it an even stronger community and blockchain then Steemit ever was.

I am in awe of the passion and dedication of the community of people who believed so strongly in the original concept and vision of a decentralized social media platform to fight and make this happen. Never giving up when faced with adversity and making all this happen!

image.png

Image Source

I'm still regaining my legs and trying to understand how this all works again, but I gotta say I'm truly impressed and the new Blockchain has re-energized my passion and excitement for something I once was truly passionate about but lost interest in. The logo as well is much better!

To all my old friends feel free to hit me up. I'm back!

Sort:  

I'm not one of your old friends but hey, welcome back :D

Thanks! New friends welcome too!

Nice to see your post again. Any plans for you to revive your Witness and support the newly “reHivetalized” Filipino community.?

I like that term. Yes. I am working on it. I need to learn how to set everything up again and also on this new blockchain :)

I like that term. Yes. I am working on it. I need to learn how to set everything up again and also on this new blockchain :)

You can figure it out again easily.

Hi @cloh76 nice to meet you on chat and looking forward to the contest! :D Nice to see you back!

Thanks!

Alright, welcome back... The old steemph has been gone for some complicated issue. Moving forward...

Renaming to HivePH. Come join us on Discord!

Yes, thank you much for invitation. I'll be there.

Congratulations @cloh76! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 300 posts. Your next target is to reach 350 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!