4 Years

in #hive4 years ago

4 years can mean a lot of different things for a lot of different people. For some, its meaning is fond times in High School or College learning all that there is to learn and meeting people along the way. For some, it is how long a romantic relationship takes to blossom into a happy marriage. For others, it is how long a battle to survive can last before they win or lose. For me, its meaning is bitter sweet. 4 years of High School; 4 years studying the art of composition; and 4 years of work both on and off of this blockchain (or should I say the Steem blockchain?) trying to ensure that the chain is successful, and trying to get as many of my friends and anyone who would listen on board as I could. "It is the future!" I would say whenever they doubted me. Whether the price dropped to 8 cents, or rose to 8 dollars, I held firmly that it was the future. That belief has not been tainted for me. Blockchain is the future. But not this chain (the hivechain); not with the corruption it was born of. 4 years following the chain; 4 years posting the content nearest to my heart: My music! My life! All entries in this chain. All to ensure that I was producing quality content, and actively helping to bring the chain forward. All of this for it to turn around and slit my throat. My throat might be slit, but I am not done moving quite yet.

Born of Corruption

Let me be clear. I disagreed with the initial decision to freeze Steemit's stake. I felt that it set a very dangerous precedent, and I was worried about the legal ramifications which the witnesses could (and possibly will) face. Extortion is a crime, and that was certainly, in my opinion, extortion.

After Sun took the chain with the exchanges, I was also fearful that that was a dangerous precedent to set. Two wrongs don't make a right. So, after discussing it, my father (@remlaps) and I voted for 5 witnesses from tron, and 5 witnesses from the original witnesses. We did this in order to emphasize (at least symbolically) that neither group should gain full power.

Then came the hive announcement.

The only accounts who will not be included in the initial airdrop are those containing the Steemit Inc ninja-mined stake, and those who actively contributed to (and publicly declared support for) the centralization of the Steem Blockchain.

How funny it is that you argue you are decentralized when you are litterally removing anyone who, through the voting process, didn't blindly support the witness' power grab. Meanwhile, I am bannished to the "centralized" camp because I did something to promote decentralization. You might not like that I did it, but that is besides the point. I did what I thought was right with my legitimately acquired stake. I have spent the last 4 years acquiring that stake for you to punish me for using it to do what I thought was right. For the record, you have only proved to me that my decision was right.

Other Points to Respond to

The most important improvements and decisions will be made after initial launch with a chance for proper feedback from the community.

All I will say is "it is hard to tame a dog once you've put a crown on its head." For all of the users kissing the witnesses where they've paid to be kissed, you will learn soon enough that this promise of an open community is under the pretense that you agree with them. They have butchered anyone in the community who showed any signs of potentially disagreeing. I was on the fence before, now they have certainly pushed me off onto the other side.

I hear there might be a proposal in the new system that people could vote on, that might provide forgiveness and restore stake to some of these accounts.

As for your "forgiveness," let stray dogs howl before their master's house. . . I am not going to beg for forgiveness because I did nothing wrong. I GAVE YOU 4 YEARS, and you still stabbed me in the end.

I arrived a stranger,
A stranger I depart.

The only thing I am sure of, is I have no fond words for any of you. With the exception of thank you. Thank you for making this decision so easy. I was going to give you a chance. Now the world is gloomy, and my path is covered in snow. Good night.