You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: After 5000 hours in 3 years, my content has earned me $500,000 on Steem/Hive!

in #hive4 years ago

Yeah man sometimes you get dealt a shit hand. I’ve had lots of posts I worked hours on get squat for rewards. Some of the things I’ve tried to do don’t get well received while others that are kind of stupid get praise and awards. It’s the challenge of human nature and peoples choices. The best we can do is be consistent and hope that someday it works out in the end. Not sure what else to think about it.

And getting paid 100$ per hour is a little obscene. Not sure what kind of shit that’s about but that’s over 200k a year. Shoot for something a little more reasonable, I think. That way you’re not going to get bummed out.

Sort:  

"Some of the things I’ve tried to do don’t get well received while others that are kind of stupid get praise and awards."

Yeah, there's little correlation between effort and payout, I figured that out in the first few weeks. But that's not at all what I'm talking about in this post.

"And getting paid 100$ per hour is a little obscene."

No, most professionals make that much or more. But I'm not looking to make that much. Like I said, I'd be happy to break even, but I'm PAYING to work here. That's my point.

No. Most professionals don't make that much. Most people don’t make $200K a year.

By the way, as my post says, I locked away 5k to achieve that hypothetical rate of pay. Most professionals pay nothing to get a job (in fact, some get signing bonuses).

And I never claimed 200k per year. I said 500k for 3 years would have been great.

If we imagine I had 5k sitting around I didn't need or want to invest elsewhere, then there was no cost other than the 5k. In that case, 500k minus the initial 5k would be 495k in 3 years. I have used several grand in PCs, video cards, hard drives, cameras, and other hardware. Replacement cost several grand, say another 5k. So I'd have 490k after paying basic costs and working full time for 3 years.

Just over 160k per year. That would be pretty amazing, a dream job. Even in Canadian dollars that would be as much as my college buddy, who went into programming, and works for a big company in Vancouver. I could even buy really nice hardware (not just replace the old low-end stuff I generally have access to). I could pay a mortgage, feed my wife and son, and start paying for proper health care, track down what happened to me 4 years ago, and see if there's a way I can beat whatever it is. Be able to walk further again, see better, sleep properly, not be in constant pain, not be twitching all over uncontrollably.... man, the idea brings tears to my eyes. It's been so long since I wasn't in constant agony. I can only imagine how my channel would be able to take off.

But like I said in the post, I'd settle for breaking even (not losing money to post here), though I'm a long way from achieving that.

I get what you are saying. For the most part, the vast majority of the people here are losing money.

I also noted the @freedom "bots" tend to vote on people who exclusively cash out. But hey, that's none of our business.

Sometimes, I ask myself why I bother powering up.

You're the only person mentioning 200k per year, or any annual salary at all.
Please refer to my post.

Most still don't. And by your "per skill set" definition, a $45 "shitpost" is still underpaid.