You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: back to building

in #hive3 years ago

“A Tale of Two City’s (Hivesters)”

City #1:
In mid 2016 my nephew Jrcornel went “All In” on Steem as his primary crypto. He loved the social aspects and the ability to learn and share with fellow crypto investors. He had also toyed around with other crytos; but Steem was his baby. He eventually invested over a half million dollars in Steem. He loved Steem, promoted Steem to all his friends and family, and eventually recruited over 300 members to join and invest. His posts were well received and over the next 5 years, he accumulated nearly 18,000 followers. These were the Wild West days of crypto. In 2017 he learned that other Steemians had multiple accounts.

Absent any rules to the contrary; he created his one and only alt account: JonDoe. Yes, he increased his rewards payout, but he also had to do twice as much work. Always creating new content; never duplicating the same posts.

Several times over the next 5 years, he became a Crypto Millionaire. Not mainly because of rewards payouts, but because of the increased value of Steem. While he was not a whale, he was always “All In” and always supported the platform.

His support for and success with Steem allowed him to meet the love of is life, buy a nice home, and become father to 3. Most would consider this an American success story.

Fast forward to the entry of Justin Sun, drastic fall in value, and the potential demise of Steem. Uncertain times!

And then Hive was born. He never begged to be staked with Hive; but like you, me, and most Hivesters, we were staked to the new platform. Win Win for all we hoped.

So now he has two platforms; that are virtually identical for frequent posters. Potential windfall, as long as Hive becomes successful. Does he ramp up his behavior; no, he continues to post the same posts across his Jrcornel & JonDoe. But now as a savvy investor, chooses to duplicate in both Steem and Hive. Again, no rules against and no idea which platform would emerge victorious, if either.

He continued to support both platforms, recruit new members, gain new followers, and move his investments back and forth based on the best returns on investment. Just remember, this is first and foremost a crypto currency and an investment. We don’t know a single investment advisor who would argue with this strategy:

Support and grow the network, learn and share your expertise, be involved with other investors, and maximize your returns.

When confronted recently with his actions, he did not run and hide, he admitted to his actions and attempted to explain his position. Many came to his aide and many savaged him by applying their own set of morals. He was downvoted for all his posts, eliminating any incentive for continuing to post. Result: 18,000 followers have been abandoned, his expertise is no longer part of the chain, he is devastated by the backlash, and has chosen to abandon direct contact in Hive. Steem will now be the sole beneficiary of his efforts.

You comment that you only want members that are committed to the blockchain. But your actions have helped drive away a committed advocate, by posting false acquisitions, outfight lies, and shoddy investigations. Financially, your paltry investment pails in comparison to his financial support and risk.

You should be very proud.

City #2
I joined Steem in December of 2017 at the insistence of my nephew Jrcornel. Invested $500 overall to see what Steem was all about. I have investments in 12 separate crypto’s; but BTC is my god. During my ramp up into Steem, I met 13 others that Jrcornel had recruited to Steem. They were all great guys (no females) and were Steem investors, posters, and supporters. As a result of these friendships, we all supported each other and upvoted each other’s posts. We supported each other as good friends do; and we all advocated for Steem. It was kind of like Facebook with benefits from my perspective. Although my paltry investment gained them little rewards. After a few years, I lost interest and more or less quit posting on a regular basis. This was never a cash cow for me and I have never cashed out a single penny of my 4+ year investment.

Fast forward to the creation of Hive. Yes, I got staked and doubled my investment. However, I never jumped back in and started posting like a maniac to get rewards. Of my original investment in Steem, my strake in Hive is worth less than $300. And for the record, I have no alt accounts.

Boy have i gamed the system for my own financial gain!

I was perfectly happy in my ignorant Hive bliss until 2 months ago. When some total asshole began to Libel my nephew; and subsequently myself. Can you guess who that was @gank?

After Jrcornel and myself were accused of having “hundreds, if not thousands” of alt accounts. I got pissed; just as you would if you were accused by false accusations. Repeated attempts to get you to back down were met with vitriol and further accusations. Instead of any kind of sincere apology, you ramped up to Printing Libelous Statements that I was Parker Conrad, a somewhat nefarious dude. Oh, and by the way, you accused my nephew of being T Cormier; whom ever that is.

You fucking pissed me off!

On over a dozen occasions, I implored you to correct your errors and apologize. These were met with disdain, more false accusations, and self aggrandizing bullshit. And by the way, during this time, you apologized and paid reparations to at least 3 others that you had apparently wrongly accused. None as badly as you had Libeled me!

So here we are. You have decided that your morals, ethics, and flawed “investigations” are the epitome of supporting the blockchain. Right or wrong! While true investors/supporters, with significant (or minuscule) have been bullied off the chain.

The next move is yours! You have always had the ability to quell this. We can part ways amicably or we can ramp this up to full throttle. Make your move.

Sort:  

..

More power to you Bru; but that is your fight, not mine.

You seem so dead certain that you are right, that you could care less about collateral damage. If you don’t libel my nephew and myself, I never hear, or care, about your soapbox. For me and my family, this is just another investment. And frankly, right now it is failing in relation to Steem. Who woulda thunk it?

Apologize and stay the fuck away from my family is the only way to end this from our end. Then you are free to pursue any and all false or true theories.

Man Up and do the right thing! And then just disappear from my feed.