You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Change is coming to Hivebits (HBIT)

in #hivelast year

Yes, it's still valid. The intent was to cut down on people using others' posts and essentially spamming those posts with something that has nothing to do with the topic at hand. Sometimes, though, I've noticed people will comment on another's post and then reply to their own post so that they then double-spam the original post! Argh! What's it called? The "law of unintended consequences" I believe. I've considered switching back, but have held off and haven't had time anyway.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for the information.

Things change quickly and frequently with these "tokens" and the information about the change doesn't reach everyone and is also often not easy to find - so I asked you directly and I am glad about your quick answer.

I have now stopped using hivebits because I think it creates the flavour of a self vote. I didn't feel good about responding to myself. I initially took comfort in the fact that you, as the token creator, set it that way and I understand your motives.

Even though this is a kind of mining it doesn't feel right to me.

Thank you very much and have a good time.

!LUV and !invest_vote

Okay, I can respect your opinion. However, heeesny thoughts: I view mining HBIT as being rewarded for my own effort. That's okay, isn't it? No one works all the time so that his or her efforts yield rewards to others all the time. That's called volunteering, and that's wonderful when voluntarily chosen to do that! It's also okay to work and receive something for your work.
!LUV

I can respect your opinion, too. I was just sharing my thoughts with you and I am sure its good to do so. I appreciate your ideas very much. I guess there is nothing wrong to get something for your work.

I didn't mean to offend you, the idea of mining is fascinating but I'm afraid that not all people know about it and then many may think I'm sending tokens to myself. For those who don't know the idea behind hivebits, all they see is me giving a bot command on my own answer. It's more about the external effect that I create and that's what I'm worried about.

!LUV

No offense here at all. I see your point about how others might see it as self giving.

.y recommendation has been to make a specific "this my HBIT mine post" then reply to that each day. This is I do. That way it doesn't interfere with anyone else's posts a d no one even sees it.

I should try to get that word put better.

!LUV

a d no one even sees it

You can see everything on the blockchain and if you edit it out and the frontend doesn't show it anymore you can still make it visible again. 😉

As you say, there are ways that it doesn't bother anyone, but I think if something is ok, you don't have to hide it.😉


I should try to get that word put better.

I can't understand this sentence, I am sorry.

Hi, a few things:

  1. I'm not trying to hide anything by creating a "this is my HBIT mine post." I'm trying to not intrude on others' posts. The fact that others can see anything on the chain is indeed a good thing. Transparency is great and a top benefit of blockchain. By making my own HBIT mine post, I'm saying, "This is my Hivebits mine. I put in some effort each day. I get something in return each day. It intrudes on no one user. And im hiding nothing because its here for all to see."
  2. The purpose of Hivebits from the start has been "your effort, your reward." I think that's verbatim from early posts. The idea was to mimic Bitcoin's ethos of proof of work yields earnings.
  3. That sentence you was mistyped by me. It should have said, "I should try to get that word out better." In other words, I need to do a better job of communicating HBIT and how it works.
  4. It's admirable that you take such a hard line on these things. That's uncommon and I respect that.
    😀
    !LUV

The post thing is a nice idea - have your own mine. 😄

I wouldn't say I take a hard line, you never stop learning on Hive and I'm seeking my way through the blockchain in my development here. I just try not to hurt anyone and give people some encouragement. the best way I guess I can do that is by trying to follow rules to the best of my conscience and knowledge and behave the way I want others to behave. 😉

@crrdlx, @kvinna(2/10) sent you LUV. | tools | discord | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Made with by crrdlx

@crrdlx, @kvinna(3/10) sent you LUV. | tools | discord | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Made with by crrdlx

@kvinna denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@kvinna thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !