New Hive Witness - The Gear & The Goals πŸ”₯

in #hive β€’ 10 months ago

server.png

I have finally took the jump to self hosting a HIVE node and am super excited to continue to learn even more about how I can tweak it and even make some custom scripts to manage it and eventually integrate it with @terracore.

I want to thank @hivetrending & @rishi556 for helping troubleshoot a few issues I had at the start of the process and for the awesome setup guide here: https://peakd.com/hive-139531/@rishi556/how-to-set-up-a-hive-witness-using-hiab-at-version-1-24-4

Setup

This is an at home setup, I have a rack in my Garage with dedicated connection and some other nodes that are being hosted there.

  • 1G Ethernet Connection
  • 32 Core i7 Intel CPU
  • 32G Memory
  • 1TB NVME SSD

Blocks Coming in & Fully Synced

image.png

I am also currently looking to get the price feed working as well as ensuring that on power loss the node will auto start, if anyone has any tips on those please let me know in the comments!

If you would like to support a new developer on HIVE please consider voting for me for witness here: https://vote.hive.uno/@crypt0gnome

Also check out @terracore a game I am currently building on HIVE here: https://peakd.com/@terracore

Sort: Β 

This is an at home setup, I have a rack in my Garage with dedicated connection and some other nodes that are being hosted there.

Nice, great to see some things being hosted at home.

πŸ˜€

Nice! Another one like me! 100% support this kind of decentralization.

You got my vote. Keep up the awesome work! Also, love the thumbnail of this post. Midjourney?

Thanks! Yup Midjourney

Congrats on getting this up and running. Voted!

Thanks!

Nice we need more witnesses running on home setups! Welcome to the club.

Thanks!

Congratulations! Awesome work

Thanks Farmer

You welcome!

Blaze it!

My previous @v4vapp proposal has expired. I have a new one which is running but unfunded right now. I'm still running @v4vapp and all my other services.

I've just updated v4v.app and I'm getting ready for some exciting new features after the next hard fork.

Please consider asking your friends to vote for prop #265 or consider unvoting the return vote.

For understandable reasons in the current crypto climate it is harder to get funded by the DHF, I accept this so I'm asking a wider audience for help again. I'll also add that I power up Hive every day and usually power up larger amounts on 1st of the Month. I'm on Hive for ideological reasons much more than for only economic benefit.

Additionally you can also help with a vote for Brianoflondon's Witness using KeyChain or HiveSigner

If you have used v4v.app I'd really like to hear your feedback, and if you haven't I'd be happy to hear why or whether there are other things you want it to do.

Congrats on running your own node at home πŸ’ͺ
!PIZZA

very good. thanks for this support

Voted πŸ‘
Setting up a node is on my list of things to do.
If you are running this in docker there is a setting to auto start the container on boot.

You stated in the post that you had 1TB disk space, do you know how much space is needed?

It is only using around 550 GB so I would say 1 TB would be a future proof solution

Β 10 months agoΒ (edited)Β 

Mine is using even less:

Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev             16G     0   16G   0% /dev
tmpfs           3.2G  1.2M  3.2G   1% /run
/dev/sda1       995G  485G  510G  49% /

sda1 has everything related to hive(and more)

Voted
Great work, congrats!πŸ˜ƒ

Β 10 months agoΒ (edited)Β 

PIZZA!
The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.

$PIZZA slices delivered:
maliric tipped crypt0gnome
kungfukid tipped crypt0gnome
@rikarivka(5/5) tipped @crypt0gnome
herman-german tipped crypt0gnome
guurry123 tipped crypt0gnome

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @crypt0gnome! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.
You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!

congrats!

!PIZZA

congrats!

!PIZZA

I am also currently looking to get the price feed working as well as ensuring that on power loss the node will auto start, if anyone has any tips on those please let me know in the comments!

Buy a UPS.

that is on the list!

Voted! Great to see new witnesses, especially at home :)

Thanks!

Congratulations
I really enjoying playing the game
!PIZZA

32 cores might be a bit overkill, depending on how many connections can reach it out. Usually, for open access, you will need it.

If for internal access only, then tootallly more than enough, even something like 4 cores would do for a recent CPU.

Nice to have you onboard.

Yea, I had my last gaming PC which is overkill but rather than collecting dust put it do good work!

this script from drakos is quite reliable for running a price feed

https://github.com/Jolly-Pirate/pricefeed

Thanks!

awesome! Congrats setting this up. I have a server in my garage and i'll be looking at running some nodes soon with my mining rigs I don't mine on any more.

Have a good trip in this business! :)
!PIZZA