Absolute Bull

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

A few days ago I moved my SBI's over from Steem to Hive and thought it was a great idea. Little did I know that it would create a headache by some idiot accounts.

This is a response from @mmmmkkkk311 on @jongolson comment to him this morning.
lol don't get mad, according to sbi's memo guide, you have bought 1382 shares and earned lifeime downvotes from me

This morning I woke up seeing my posts yesterday and this morning have been down voted. I have no problem as everyone has that right so not a biggie in my eyes, but the reason being is because of moving over the SBI to HBI on Hive. I popped into SBI discord to see what is going on and they have a heal you section now. How ridiculous as I haven't purchased an SBI or HBI for nearly a year or maybe longer. I just see this as abuse now by the following accounts and this is not right.

The first down vote came from @abuse-signal and then was followed by @ctime,@mmmmkkkk311,@mariuszkarowski,@tagflagger,@mk-sports-token,@mk-marlians-tkn,@dicetime,@mk-gg-token,@mk-natrl-token. In total about $0.74 c lost because of some fools.

There is a trail that I had no idea about called @ihealyou which I will now join as this is just dumb and have no idea what game is being played. I have no idea if the delegators know what their delegation is being used for so I am highlighting the ones who delegate to these accounts here.

@ctime delegations
@bckc-capital-llc,@clone92,@crypto1984,@darth-azrael,@doikao,@funnyman,@gabbynhice,@general.guy,@getonthetrain,@gogreenbuddy,@hammers,@jankos55,@johnquake,@justtryme90,@kamikaze,@koinbot,@mathfortress,@maxdm,@megadrive,@milkcrate,@niallon11,@nicole-st,@nusssy321,@raycoms,@razzel,@reshma88,@sanevys,@someguy123,@spoke,@steinreich,@stimp1024,@tensaix2j,@th1nkfast,@thecryptodrive,@tipopipa,@tngflx,@uss,@warren.buffett,@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I recognise many names on here who I know would not support what is currently playing out. This goes against everything we are trying to achieve on the block chain and it just seems so wrong.

I suggest whoever delegates to these accounts remove their delegation as this is not right and will only cause trouble going forward for everyone swapping over.

Sort:  

@ctime I am tagging you in this letting you know I don’t support downvoting maliciously with my delegations, should you continue or fail to reply informing me that you will no longer do this, you will lose my delegations.

Thank you. I had no idea this was even going on until today and have been looking into it. This has been going on for sometime.

@snook, @ozchartart, @marfonso, @felixgarciap, @felt.buzz, just a few users who got downvoted today, or should I say bullied?

Loading...

@felt.buzz is one of the most genuinely kind and positive users I've had the pleasure of interacting with and seeing their content downvoted for no reason is absolute trash.

When I was brand new, felt upvoted and commented on a ton of my posts and it really encouraged me to stay on the site.

Thank you! That is really nice to hear. You've made my day! :)

Just to let you know they are now hitting older posts and haven't listened.

I have checked your account stats and to be fair you have been spreading your vote out to quite a number of accounts which is good and a positive move. I can't however let my SP be used in support of anybody targeting HBI holders as for a lot of people just joining the chain it is the only support that they get on their post for a long time.

I think it's a great project and totally disagree with the actions of @mmmmkkk311 on this matter. That account has driven away a lot of potential users through downvoting small and innocent accounts harming the chain far more than most.

You can see that I am fully supportive of helping others and spend a lot of time promoting the chain especially on twitter https://twitter.com/hive_blockchain
but it is people like that that are hurting our growth and driving away users.

There needs to be a positive experience here to attract and retain users if we are to do better than the old chain. I can't stop you from supporting that person but hopefully you will think about what they are doing and realize that it's not the way to build a community platform. I'm also sure that @cryptoandcoffee can do more to support other users and help the community while he grows his account but it's our largest stake holders that set the example for everybody else and we saw how that went when they were all getting involved in flags wars on the old chain and drove away more people every time.

That is why I will politely remove my delegation to your account for the sake of HIVE evolving into a better platform. I would like to see more people helping and supporting rather than downvoting and creating negativity. We still need to watch for abuse but this is not what it looks like, especially HBI.

That's a great point. If downvotes are used effectively, they can help secure and protect the chain.

But malicious downvotes like this, hurts everyone. Including the accounts doing the downvoting. Without users , HIVE is nothing.

Funny you say that I delegated to @curangel this evening and to @ihealyou. I am still waiting for more Steem to come across and will find more cases for delegation. I am not a bad egg and will always help wherever I can.

@time thanks for your response and for your curation efforts, the only issue is the use of the downvotes to attack other users. SBI has a right to exist on the chain, they do help new users and downvotes just discourage adoption of the platform. I kindly request that you do not target them.

Thank you @thecryptodrive for supporting HBI and trying to find a solution.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Hey mate, I haven't really got into this conversation before and am no whale, nor do I know your particular beef with SBI/HBI, but what is the issue?

I think the ROI on it is a very long time, isn't it - and doesn't it require posting and engaging to get a return? Also, people are often using it to reward other users for prizes and stuff. From my experience, it has done more good than harm as it has kept many people interested, especially when it has been used as prizes.

I used to give people small amounts of SBI as engagement prizes which they highly appreciated, but after the downvotes they received, I now power them up some HIVE - it has a different effect I think and I believe that the SBI was taken as more of a reward, as it had longevity, even though the return (as far as I remember) was far in the future for anyone.

I think that overall, the draw on the pool through SBI is quite small and it is heading out to many users who are encouraged to keep active. It also keeps HIVE powered up and actively distributing. If there is a harm, I think in this case, the pros outweigh the cons. What I do think though, is flagging users who have no idea why they are really getting flagged (remember they are often bought for new users to encourage engagement) is more harmful to the UX of smaller users on the platform - and that isn't great.

Interested to know more.

In the past my only issue was the lack of info on SBI and when I mentioned that I'm usually not a big fan of automation or something like that and without even picking sides since I also mentioned I knew so little about the project the owner stopped responding and shortly after unvoted our witness so it didn't make it any easier to try and get to the bottom of it to pick a side when knowing enough info and them acting so defensively about it usually raises red flags. So my next question would be what's in it for the creator of SBI/HBI and can this service exist without middlemen taking a cut if that's the case and if the manual work is still so minimal from that end yet there are positives that come from it thus there's a demand for it.
Of course I'm not against good ideas being rewarded but in public blockchains there needs to be room for competition, undercutting and improvements but it's hard when the info seems hard to get a hold off and the owner gets defensive when someone asks to many questions.

Thanks for weighing in. I apologize if I seemed defensive before. That's not how I recall our previous interaction, but then somebody doesn't usually realize they're being defensive until called out on it.

I have usually tried to be very open about how SBI/HBI works. Our codebase is open source, and we have an FAQ and tons of supporting documents explaining how everything works. When we were posting every day, the links to FAQ and support documentation were included in every post.

We have made witness changes for lots of reasons over the years, so I couldn't say whether the witness change was because of our conversation. If you seemed hostile to me (which is likely if I responded defensively) then it probably was related.

As community members have brought concerns to me, I have tried to weigh concerns and responded when it seemed merited (including removing rewards for upvoting SBI posts, even though they funded 30% of our voting power).

I recall that you had some concerns about our comment voting, and I was not in agreement at the time. I later decided that you were right, and we have not voted on any comments in a long time.

So my next question would be what's in it for the creator of SBI/HBI

I take an override of 5% on all sponsorships (rewarded to my account as bonus units that give me a chunky vote whenever I actually post). Because I don't post often, I actually use those for airdrops, supporting community initiatives, and paying the writers and interviewers that created content for SBI when we still posted regularly. I don't receive any other payment from the program.

can this service exist without middlemen taking a cut if that's the case

If it brings an end to the attacks against SBI/HBI members, I would be happy to remove my 5% bonus units from all new sponsorships. My current stack of bonus units I need to facilitate membership conversions from Steem and reward as prizes for upcoming contests that are planned).

I don't post that often anyway (except comments).

So my next question would be what's in it for the creator of SBI/HBI and can this service exist without middlemen taking a cut if that's the case and if the manual work is still so minimal from that end yet there are positives that come from it thus there's a demand for it.

Not sure if they take a cut or much of a cut tbh, but I do think that it has some effect on engagement and retention on the platform.

While it is automated on the vote (as it votes a lot), the people who have HBI have at least "often" been chosen based on their activity. For example, the ones I mostly gave to where from the number I sponsor (10) on the Engagement League. I would put a couple SBI for them, as at least on that week, they likely put around 200 comments onto the chain, and unlikely got paid much for it. Getting that small vote from time to time probably matters to them.

I 100% second this. Totally my thoughts.
The advantages are much more than the little disadvantages.
The last time I calculated this it took almost a year for some ROI. Actually, mmmmmkkkk311 once laughed about it in a comment because in his opinion the vote you receive is so small. Still, he thinks his investment is in danger and he needs to protect it with downvotes. Perhaps he missed some hours of math at school.
So additionally it's also a long term investment. Who invests in HSBI plans to stay for a long time, especially if you keep reinvesting.

HIVE ON!!!

Thank you @tarazkp for supporting HBI.

Respectfully, as a new user who isn't a whale and has limited avenues to grow my account, HBI is something that when I was gifted one from another user absolutely made my day.

I also think it's a little sad that you only want to listen to whales. I get why, I think, since their opinions can make or break us regular users - but they also account for the smallest portion of the community.

The majority so far have asked that you stop downvoting HBI owners, and I have to agree with them until I hear a compelling reason why HBI harms HIVE.

Exactly!!
You said it perfectly!

Personally, I think we are critically low on users and had hoped this SBI/HBI downvoting would cease.

I'm no longer involved with Steem and so couldn't care less what happens over there, but hopefully you choose not to downvote on Hive. Your choice of course.

Thank you @abh12345 for supporting HBI!!!

I have no problem with SBI/HBI because I believe everyone should be free to conduct enterprise on chain as long as it is professional and some people find value in it. I don't feel they should be attacked for running an enterprise.

That's because you're a fucking slimeball that runs trashy/scammy services.

I don't like what you're doing. I think I'll just oppose all of your votes moving forward. Who is going to delegate to you at that point?

I also don't really care for this HBI handout nonsense, but, you're just a dick.

If he is a dick then who you are?

Are you out of your fucking mind? Again?

For slaughtering a trash account? Trust me, there's far more coming.

Your buddy downvoted me even though I played by his rules and havent purchased an SBI unit for almost half a year. What he's doing is now malicious and does nothing to help HIVE.

I see you upvoting a ton of people and helping, thats what makes HIVE awesome. His downvote trail is now going after people that followed his 'rules'. And as he said 'I get downvotes for life..?'

I dont think he yet understands how harmful that is. If we were spamming or what not, by all means, downvote...But for people just trying to promote HIVE and create an amazing community...Frustrating.

I have no idea what is wrong with you. You do so much good yet you cause loads of damage at the same time. I work on my ROI yes but I also upvote comments and will find users where I can. I am in the pricess of converting Steem to Hive and I am going to be adding to my delegations which i started today. One because of you actually.
I still don't get what the problem is as growing new users by offering SBI/HBI was beneficial and was something we could all give.

Well the history is...MKKK got his bot business ruined by HF21. So this is his way of getting back at HIVE. He says SBI is a circle jerk and upvoting scheme.

When all it ever was, was encouragement for newer accounts to see some payback from their efforts. Because it's not like these he's running around supporting new accounts and helping onboarding.

I think it's all done out of spite, has nothing to do with helping HIVE

I think it is exactly that and is all in spite and hatred to everyone on here. We had nothing to do with what happened to him. He is trying to make me look bad and I wont allow that as I have worked too hard to have that happen. I have a thick skin and will delegate more when my powerdown from steem comes through to help others. This needs to be fixed for all of us and new users joining. HBI is a user retention tool and is very important.

It's massive.

And I'm not sure how anyone can see it otherwise. I work with hundreds of HIVE members and they continuously tell me, HBI (SBI) was the only support they got when they first started out, and it kept them learning, growing and creating.

Hell, I dont even need the shares to sponsor...But a share into the DHF or something, i dunno...The only reason I wanted to see HBI grow was for the retention tool it was. And it was very powerful....

Again, speaking from someone who actually works with people daily to help them learn HIVE lol Not just running around downvoting people who are just trying to learn.

I agree and this needs to go higher and the community needs to decide. One account or two accounts cannot dictate and bully people just because they can for now. I wish I was a little bigger. Can't believe he has the audacity to try and show me up trying to make ROI on my Hive Power either. Very few of us vote comments and believe making some up here and there is imperative.

I'm glad to see more and more people joining the counterattack on these completely insane downvotes.
Great call to the people that delegate to them. Hopefully, some will stop delegating and give their HP to someone who does good things with it.

I think they will once they realise what is going on behind the scenes on this. I had no idea this was going on and will fight this now.

Thanks a lot for your support!

Wow. This is what it was about?

I stopped buying SBI months ago because of this guy's threats. I played by his rules which I don't think i should have to....

I have been bringing people to HIVE non stop for almost 3 years now. And SBI was how I rewarded people to creating and embracing HIVE....

And this is the thanks I get...Downvotes for life?

LOL

Yeah this is going to go over great with my community.

That is why I said relax. This has just started. This will kick off today.

Sorry for the shitty vote in the @ihealyou trail as didn't know how much was voting on and have now upped it. I thought 20 percent was 20 percent and not a percentage of it.

Method SCALE 100%: if trail vote is 20% = your vote 20%
Method SCALE 50%: if trail vote is 20% = your vote 10%

Method FIXED XX%: your vote will be XX% no matter what the trail vote percentage is. Be careful with FIXED - it can drain your VP quickly down to your Upvote Mana threshold.

No matter which method you choose - make sure you have set your Upvote Mana threshold.

HIVE ON!!!

Hoping it will be sorted before I get to that point.

Some people have suicidal tendencies.
A rotten apple spoils the whole barrel ...including the apple that initiated this action!

Everyone is free to vote how they wish which will never change. Understanding the reasoning though is another story. I am hoping it is resolved or close to being resolved.

I created @updooter and went behind him manually for months, but when we moved to Hive all the deegations went poof. I hope ihealyou is more successful.

!BEER

Thanks I hope so. Just joined the trail so at least can help a bit for now. Tackling their delegations with D lease now which they have already responded to ctime. Will do another post later to get more on the trail as it will become a problem as more change over their sbi to hbi.

I too joined that trail as I got hit by downvotes too. HBI is amazing and I hate seeming it destroyed like this.

Hey just saw my name on the list. So let me explain my delegation.
To be honest since i am not much active and i dont want to dump my hive i start to use dlease.
I didnt check for who i am delegating i just check the ROI.
Lets be honest my hive investment was not the smartest move of my life. I bought before 5k steem/hive and until now i am in minus with my investment. So it will be not fair to judge me example that i am trying to get back some money that i lose.
I already recomended to someone that if u have a issues like this than you should contact maybe the dlease team. Maybe they can make a blacklist wich actually i also dont like because there should be not blacklists on the blockchain.
I am sorry to hear what happened but i cant do nothing. To rent a HP trought dlease is like u buy something. So until the delegation time is not expired which will actually will happen soon i cant withdraw my delegation.
What i can promise that next time i will try to check which order i will accept.

you can just cancel the delegation and this will then normally refund the other party. Its not possible to do in dlease but you can use
https://beeme.icu/?account=gabbynhice

Let me know how much ROI you are getting on that 500 and I might match it if its reasonable

There is about 1 month left from it. As soon as it will expired i can promise that i will dont delegate to that acc anymore.
But he can make a alt account and if anybody delegate to his alt then again there will be a witch hunt?
As i mentioned most of the delegators have nothing to do with this because it is trought dlease.
U guys should talk with the devs or operators of dlease to dont have this issue again.
I usually if i promise something or if i make a deal i keep my word. So i cant just undelegate it because i accept a deal on dlease. But i will keep my word that i will dont delegate to this acc again.
Hope everyone will be ok with this option.

Hi @gabbynhice,
The critical accounts at the moment are mmmmkkkk311, mariuszkarowski, everything starting with mk- like mk-pal etc., ctime, fucktime, dicetime.

I'm glad you might use your new delegation for someone else. There are a lot of good projects out there that are looking for some extra HP.

P.S.: when the delegation ends, the person you delegate to can prolong it with one click. If that happens please consider canceling it as @felander described.
It has no disadvantage for anyone if you do so.

Thanks for your support!

Thank you for the info and for the advise No worries, as I wrote i keep my promise.
As soon as the current term finish i will cancel my delegation.

Hope u guys will be lucky with the rest of the accounts also.

Thanks so much for letting me know. I have spoken with @thecryptodrive already and I am sure he can see the problems now.

Welsome mate. I am happy if i can help. And i am really not looking for trohble never but as we can see sometimes i find it 😁

This is why there are white lists to show users with high moral fibre, not sure if I ever would use please again as I want control over who I upvote and very occasionally downvote.

I have been dealing with these jokers for probably close to a year now. In the past the downvotes have been so small that I have just shrugged it off. It is nice that people are starting to wise up to their misguided sense of right and wrong.

I've was hit by them yesterday, Honestly completely forgot about it until then. Join the @ihealyou trail to help counter it. It's not going to stop me from giving out HBI though.

I'm just going to continue to power up and get more stake to make my contribution to the trail that much stronger.

Is there a workaround to transfer them over safely in some form or does that not work?

I would wait until this is resolved right now. Yes there is a work around to get them over, but then there are the downvotes you receive f or doing it. I am hoping this is resolved within the next day or so as @dlease needs to pull the leases. @ctime and @mmmmkkkk311 are downvoting everything now and this doesn't make any sense.

He had not DV at all in past ten days, so I thought he had moved on and was careless with Binance memos (Binance does not support encrypted withdraw memos, so names of accounts transfering from Steem were exposed).

Obviously not lol. This isn't going away.


Hey @cryptoandcoffee, here is a little bit of BEER from @definethedollar for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Irresponsible downvoting isn’t cool.