Free Leo Premium For 2500 HP Delegation

in #hive16 days ago

Hive has fees! It's just not paid in $HIVE 😱

RC works like a soul bound crypto. There's even a limit to how much you can store. All you can do is pay fees with it. That's how we get to be feeless. We just make them happen under the hood.

Even LeoDEX kind of work the same. It goes through multiple steps with most stuff automated. Users just have to sign few Tx. This got me thinking...... What if we make it easier to be a premium member 👑

Problem: People Don't Like To Pay 💵

Lot of Hive front ends have tipping feature. Does it get used? Rarely! If voting wasn't there more people might tip. But there won't be as many tips as votes. We've seen this before. BCH had their own social media. I can't even find Noise.cash today. Hive thrived because we didn't rely on tips.

Solution: Delegation As Fees 🐝 (Optional)

VSC Network did something really smart with their design. There's normal style fees paid with HBD. They work like how you pay on ETH, SOL, FTM..... or HBD staking!

APR from HBD staking can pay for fees. This is a really cool way to create a RC like system for smart contracts. Noobs don't even have to learn about staking. It's totally optional. But those who stake don't have to pay every time they want to use blockchain!

Current Path To Premium 🛣️

I need to do something like this every month. I don't always get to add a new month right when premium expire. That's few extra days of non-premium for me. I don't even mind that if I'm just playing Splinterlands.

I've got to get some Hive 1st. I don't keep much around. I do some trades on H-E. Then use @uswap because it's cheap. Sometimes I earn fees for swaps I do. Not today though 🙂

Need to get 10 HBD. So I do a quick trade. I had some HBD from post rewards. I usually do something with liquid crypto I have. So I have to make this extra steps. I can't be the only 1. It's not hard.... just extra steps. A noob that just landed on Hive may not find this easy like I do.

Finally there's the payment for premium. Some folks are lucky enough to just do this part. They have HBD around. Some might get extra unlucky and have to bring their crypto from a different chain. LeoDEX can save the day sometimes. But it doesn't support all assets.

After payment I have to wait a long time to get premium activated. Few mins is OK. But this wait feels like 1 hour+ ⌛

Add Premium To Dashboard 💻

I make 13 bucks in LEO with 3K delegation. I did some calculations. 2284 HP delegated is enough for 10 HBD. Let's make it simple and say 2.5K delegation. what if users get free premium instead of LEO staked! Nobody has to unstake LEO to buy premium. Nobody has to worry about monthly payments.

They Won't Even Feel Like Paying 🦁

Nothing goes out of user wallet. It's less friction. They'll have to actively take steps to undelegate to get out of premium. It'll be easy to forget they are premium. Just 1 delegation and they'll be set forever*

@leo.voter can get more delegations. Even in chance that doesn't happen - @khaleelkazi will get to pay less LEO for delegators. LEO delegation can even have a convenience premium. Instead of 2284 HP, FREE PREMIUM can ask for 2500 HP. I'd still think it's a good enough deal for making my life easy 😇

Few Cons To Consider ❌

  • Extra work for devs
  • Value of Hive change monthly delegation payout
  • Only attract those willing to have a sizable Hive stake
  • Less crypto for LP

Share If You Have Better Ideas 📣

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I think this idea is really attractive from a user perspective, but I'm not sure if INLEO team will like it. It's a lot of extra work for a feature that will lead to less LEO/HIVE buys by the LEO account.

More delegations = More curation rewards

Votes from @leo.voter will become more valuable. So community can benefit in other ways. Some folks don't want to pay for premium will join premium.

Extra dev work could be a big issue. I don't know how code work. Could be an evening or many days. If its the latter case I can totally see why my idea won't work out. !PIZZA

This could be a great solution.
What about the people who have more than the required? Should it be split in 2 delegations, maybe have a specific account for the premium delegation?

Just add some part to code to remove 2.5K HP from calculation. Users should not have to do anything. !PIZZA

It's a good idea, but at the same time, the 2.5k should only be removed if the user has opted in for premium. I think it should be a choice and not something that just happens

💯 Yes!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@d-zero(2/5) tipped @ahmadmanga
d-zero tipped caspermoeller89