My First Pies On the Hive! | Stake Redistribution after the HIVE HardFork

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

A very turbulent month has passed. We were all thrown out of track by quite a lot. I now I was.
Imagen all those devs working on the Hive blockchain. They have been working a lot. Thanks to all of them.

Now time to get in the routine. What better way than with some pies.

01.png

But this will not be those pies. We will be looking a bit into data.

What is the most obvious thing this HF did?

It removed the Steemit Inc stake. Some collateral included in the process as well.

Let’s see how is that effecting stake distribution.

Here is the STEEM stake distribution

02.png

Disclaimer: The data in the chart are approximate and not exactly accurate.

For simplicity I have grouped all the STEEM stake in just 4 groups.

  • Steemit Inc
  • Freedom
  • Blocktrades
  • Others

As you can notice the third largest holder, @blocktrades is already at 2%. That’s why I haven’t include more accounts.

Steemit Inc had an approximate 25% share of the stake 71M STEEM in this chart (including all accounts….), next is freedom with around 4% and then @blocktrades with 2% share of the STEEM stake distribution. The share of the others stakeholders is around 69%.

Now let’s see the HIVE stake distribution.

HIVE Stake distribution

03.png

Well on the Hive side @freedom is now the larges stakeholder with 5% share of the stake or more just above 10M. @blocktrades is next with 2% share or approximate 5M stake. From the Others group, @theycallmedan will be probably next. But the others group now consists an impressive 93% share of the overall stake.

I haven’t looked closely into the other blockchains distribution I’m guessing that this type of stake distribution is impressive for the HIVE token now.

The Steemit Inc share in the HIVE token is unknow for now as they may have received some stake from the airdrop on exchanges. One of the accounts transferred 3.6M STEEM on Binance just prior to the HF. Also, they may have some other stake on the exchanges as well and may even have been buying. My wild guess will be somewhere between 5 and 10 M, if witnesses don’t put some more conditions about exchanges airdrop.

Another interesting comparison will be the chart for whales, orcas, dolphins and minnows. Will leave that one for the future.

If we but both pies on to another for comparison we get this.

HIVE HardFork effect on stake redistribution

04.png

In the past four years with 75% authors share, and a 100 million new STEEM put into circulation, STEEM now the HIVE token have been distributed to a large number of accounts. Without the Steemit Inc stake now the HIVE token is probably one of the most decentralized coins in all crypto. There is no other blockchain that is distributing the coins in a way that STEEM/HIVE does. Usually the inflation goes to the miners/blockproducers/witnesses, or the stakeholders. In our case only 10% of the inflation goes to the witnesses and there is an option for regular people to earn the token trough the Prof of Brain mechanism.

All the best
@dalz

p.s. If some of the charts are broken go to peakd.com

Sort:  

Awesome pies @dalz, you are a great baker. :)
It really does make it easy to understand when you put it in a graph like that though, thanks!!

Thanks! I want things to be simple :)

Was the Steemit Inc stake transferred into the decentralised hive fund (i.e. SPS)? Is this held in an account somewhere? Which one?

The only place I can see HIVE dao now is https://peakd.com/me/proposals

The funds looks like usual. There was mentions that those funds will be transferred to the DAO.
Maybe its something that still needs to be sorted out.

roelandp's post suggested the steemit funds would go to the DAO/DHF.

The coin supply is unchanged. So they must be somewhere!

OK, after dragging through the github code, I think it's in @steem.dao after all.
At least, that account now has 83,370,205.872 liquid HIVE.

I hope someone has the keys!

So they are defenetly there.

I dont thinks anyone has keys from the steem.dao as that is a special account just as the null account.

Maybe they changed something with the HF.
Maybe those funds will be made available in some future HF ... will see.

I shared this post on Twitter here:

Thanks!

Well that is more decentralised!

Who is @freedom anyway, any idea? I always thought that was related to steemitinc, but I'm guessing I was wrong.

Looking forward to more detailed bins. I assume you use Python for this?

I use excel for this :) although this data doesnt need quering. Usualy I do quering of the SQL database from arcange.

I know just a bit Python, a newbie :)

I dont know freedom .... but obviously he is not with Steemit Inc.

Well you've probably noticed that @arcange now has the HIVE sql up and running!

I rather like the look of the new pie... that old Steemit, Inc. stake always felt like a giant question mark, and I suppose part of my own dis-ease about it was always that I could never bring myself to trust Ned's Hair with it.

I'll be very interesting to see how the dust settles around here!

Haha .... Neds Hair :) You cant trust that.

Stinc stake gone means a lot.

Very interesting to see the graphs side by side, thank you for sharing this. :)

You are welcome.

Thanks for the comparison.

Do you know what will happen with the SMT's. Can they be developed on Hive?

Yes they will developed in Hive I believe.

Can someone confirm?

I can not :)

But the overall goal and as stated in the announcement post is use community developers and develop as fast as can. So SMT are definitely on the road map here.

why they didn't exclude freedom? isn't that account also belong to steemit or co's?

Probably not. It supported the community witnesses as well.