A few "bugs" on Hive.blog

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

Have been posting on Hive for quite a while and normally I use hive.blog.

Found some 'bugs' that were normal when I used steemit.com so I figure for hive.blog it should be similar. If not, there must be some tuning to do for it to return to 'normal' as these functions are pretty convenient to most users.

So I summarize them here in this post and hope someone can see it. Not sure which tag to add though.

Number 1: I cannot adjust my language setting.

From previous experience with steemit.com, when I go to "Setting" there is a language selection bar and when I choose it, the interface immediately turn into the one I chose.

But this doesn't work with hive.blog and I cannot find any way to change the interface language. The default must be set according to IP, but I really prefer English, not simplified Chinese.

image.png

Number 2: Cannot go to the Comment section directly.

Again, previous experience is that when I click the 'comment' icon on the post list, it should take me to the comments section of the post, but it's not the case with hive.blog at the moment.

It's really inconvenient if you need to check the comments for you from time to time.

image.png

See!? the url shows it, but doesn't get the job done.

image.png

Number 3: Notifications.

Well, as I have been downvoted quite often in the past few weeks (bummer! a thousand words complaining omitted), I have found out that there is no notification for, unfortunately, downvotes!! Is this a clever design to not tell you the bad news on purpose!? Dunno, I would prefer to know everything.

image.png

Another question is the blue area in the photo above - what are those!?

What are these blue bars that are associated with each actions of others (votes, replies ...) I try to figure out and thought it was voting power, but seems not.

Can anyone explain? This is just for my curiosity.

That's all. Thanks for anyone who convey the message to someone who can fix them.

Cheers,

D

Sort:  

A downvote notification is highly necessary at least one has to know what is happening... I'm also new to this platform, still learning how to easily navigate

welcome to hive then! :)

I've also notice notification doesn't show downvotes.

have you also got some lately? lol

我的小号又有中到攻击。

Hey Dean, in terms of Comments, I think they changed the UI at some point, and now you need to first click on Posts above Replies, and then you have the option to click on Comments.

You may also want to try peakd.com if you can’t access certain features on hive.blog.

Hi Jimmy, I meant Comments for a specific post, not all comments under my blog.

peakd is indeed an option, but I am still used to this old fashion layout somehow. ha!

Ah I see. Hmm have no idea then.

I know what you mean with being used to this interface. I find myself switching between the two to do various things.