Quarantine Chronicles: Day 8

in #hive4 years ago

So today was actually pretty good. We have a friend here who has been having a hard time, he works as an english teacher but has had really slow work lately and on top of that he got sick a week ago (not the virus, just a flu). He's been stuck in home and hasn't had money or the ability to get any food so I had a great (and legitimate!) excuse to go out.

Here in Spain there is a list of "legitimate" reasons for leaving your house and to help someone who is infirm or unable to go out is one of them. It was actually a pleasure to be able to help a friend in this difficult time, it really takes your mind off of yourself and your own selfish things when you have to help someone else. I honestly wish it happened more.

Anyhow I was able to get him a bunch of groceries, and get out of the house and take some photos while I was at it! Not too much but being out and taking photos was really great.

Here are some shots I've taken since this whole thing started out.

Quarantine-Chronicles-18

Quarantine-Chronicles-29

Quarantine-Chronicles-40

Quarantine-Chronicles-46

Quarantine-Chronicles-50

On a side note, is anyone else having a hell of a time uploading photos? I can't seem to get the hive upload working even once, and I'm forced to use another site which is displaying my photos in this tiny format. It's irritating.

That's it for today

Sort:  

I like the photos. First day of lock down in the UK but they say we can go out for one bit of exercise. There were less people around and they were trying to stay away from each other. Good to see, hope it works. I'm sure you will have your freedom before we do, as were a bit behind. Will be good when we can think of stupid things like Brexit again.

Thanks :) Hope the lockdown is going ok for you over there! I have a few friends in the UK right now so I've been hearing the news, saw something about how Boris made an announcement about it. Here we aren't even allowed to go out for excercise which I think is ridiculous but I assume it's because if they are not super strict people here will just take advantage. I hope we are out of it soon but I don't have a lot of hope, our numbers and deaths are skyrocketing, the military has come in and is setting up an emergency hospital at the conference centre up the road from our place, so we will see how it goes. I'm sure many people are going to be doing something similar and keeping a journal. I'll keep posting as long as I can, and hopefully it won't be much longer :)

Not going out for exercise would be difficult. It will probably happen in the UK at some point. We seem to be a few weeks behind. I hope its over soon too and that we can avoid a second wave. Been reading up on the 1918 flu and there's a few similarities. Some politicians said it was no different to the usual flu then. We never learn from history. https://www.history.com/topics/world-war-i/1918-flu-pandemic