You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Hive For Everyone?

in #hive2 years ago

I can't because I don't know your work. For an account that has over 5000 followers while only following just over 400 in return, you're clearly very popular; that's borne out by the fact you don't appear to have a single post under $100.

I also see you're one of the 2016 originals. There weren't many members then, were there? Still, at least we're engaging, which is primarily my main concern. The rewards, while yes, is an element of the equation, it's not the main point of the discussion I had with Steve.

Sort:  

Even following 400, only have ten votes to hand out in a day. Only so much time in a day. I do it all manually. Wouldn't be able to support 5000 myself and was never a fan of the follow for follow trick; prefer the organic approach. Would be nice to be able to support more but I'm spread thin. About half of my HP was purchased and still not enough. I don't post often these days but I am out and about, people follow just from seeing me around commenting I guess. Certainly not invisible here.

I asked though because you seemed to be confident hard work doesn't matter. Yet now you say you'd have to look first and couldn't really answer my question. And I only asked it because you picture says "Question everything." ;)

Not sure where you came to that conclusion from? There are a lot of individuals who do work hard, @steevc and @slobberchops, to name but two (Not keeping on tagging people as it makes it look like they're being picked on.) My definition of hard work is putting the time in, talking to people, encouraging people, delegating, and promoting others' work. "I work hard!" is a bit of a trap statement, TBH. If anyone dares to refute that statement, maybe by saying, "Well, you don't post much?" there's bound to be a massive bust-up. In my opinion, I work hard too. I curate a fair few; I delegate with what little I have to spare. I try and help others, especially on Discord; when it comes to the pitfalls of HiveWatchers, I promote Hive on Social Media, so much so I was very nearly banned from a Mastodon instance a couple of weeks ago for telling someone they could earn from their photos. (Can you believe some people dislike Crypto? 🙊) so what I'm trying to get folks to understand is I actually do put the time in. I do comment, I do vote, and I do everything everyone seems to think is the answer apart from buying Hive (although that is a slight lie, I have bought very small amounts on about three occasions.), and yet I'm really no further forward that I was in 2018 and don't even get me started on my Rep. 🤣

Oh, and it's not just me saying these things. There are a good few others. Even in the comments, there's one or two with the same thought(s) in the back of their minds. 🤷‍♂️

Yep, I work seven days a week, 8.5 hours a day, Monday through to Friday; then there's a house and family and a very demanding dog. I'm fairly active in the FOSS community (That's outside of Hive) and active on Social Media hence my statement of "My time is valuable" I'd argue that time has a far higher value than any reward Hive has to offer, which is why it makes me a little annoyed that a few peoples first line of defence is: "Ah, this is about money." NO, IT IS NOT. #LeSigh
Rewards do play a part in it, but only because it has to given rewards are part of the Hive ecosystem.

Ah, so you bought your way to the top? 😉🤣

You have to work hard at it" statement everyone drops out; I literally wet myself at it because it's bollocks.

That's what you said.

Noticing you're taking shots at me. Am I wrong about that?

Yes, you are.

Good. I hope you're able to cool your jets and get back into your groove. Then maybe things will improve.