The Strange Beauty Of AI Generated Memes

in #hive4 years ago

As a geek, I love to stay updated with the latest news in my field. I am subscribed to a few digests I consume every day, for a maximum of 5-10 minutes. Mostly just to stay in touch with what happens out there, but sometimes I do spend some more times if the news is interesting.

That's what happened a couple a days ago: one of these digests had 2 news about AI, both very interesting for me. The first one was about AI generated music, and the second one about AI generated memes. As the first one may not be of interest for my followers here, I thought to focus a little bit on the second one, as I find it quite funny.

AI Generated Memes

So, there is this website, imgflip.com which published a deep network trained model, which takes as input a few images (and some seed text, if you want to play more) and then randomly generates a meme. The word "randomly" should be taken with a big grain of salt, because it's not really random - instead, if it's based on a training that the model had to undergo previously.

From the same page:

The network was trained using public images generated by users of the Imgflip Meme Generator for the top 48 most popular Meme Templates.

Nothing about the text generation is hardcoded, except that the maximum text length is limited for sanity. The model uses character-level prediction, so you can specify prefix text of one or more characters to influence the text generated. Using someone's name or other short text as a prefix works best.

So, if you want to give it a try, go ahead and play with it by following the link above. Here a few that I generated myself (while boring during this quarantine):


3zvpnc.jpg


3zvq7k.jpg


3zvpjq.jpg


There is an ongoing funding proposal for two of my Hive-related projects, which will allow me to support some of the costs involved. If you want to support this proposal, all you have to do is to vote it using any of the two links below:

Sign this proposal with Hivesigner
Peakd: https://peakd.com/me/proposals/92

Already supported by: @toofasteddie, @alina.romila, @amico, @bluerobo, @chrisaiki, @erikah, @ervin-lemark, @ew-and-patterns, @guruvaj, @mytechtrail, @pharesim, @ryivhnn, @sacrosanct, @captainklaus, @santigs, @inertia, @bro.poker, @distantsignal, @doze, @gadrian-sp, @shmoogleosukami, @valued-customer, @condeas, @justinashby, @likwid, @bucipuci


I'm a geek, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created hive.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your HIVE rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Sort:  

Cool man. AI generated Memes. Lolzzzz
I wonder if AI can make a meme about Justin Sun :)
I better give it a try.

There are some weird ones 🤣

image.png

Your meme has received an honorable mention in MemeHive's weekly meme review. Good work!

Great idea for lovers of meme

the Meme era is big no one have thought of

This will be a good idea to make some meme through using this network.