HubPages Needs To Modernize Its Image-Import Feature

in #hive3 months ago (edited)

FreeFunArt is the creator of this image/Source:  Pixabay

Ladies and gentlemen? Go ahead and accuse me of presenting a pet peeve here on my PEAKD channel, but this situation has me very annoyed. The HubPages writing platform has an image-import feature that allows you to embed a picture or any kind of image from the Pixabay website in any article that you are composing. Here is the problem. Fewer and fewer photographs and other types of images on Pixabay allow you to do so. Let me explain.

When I first acquired my HubPages channel back in 2016, I was able to import any picture or image from Pixabay that I desired. Within the past year, I have been having more and more problems with that feature. I try to use it, and I get a message that it won't work with a particular picture or image. The message reads as follows:

Unrecognized file type. It is possible that the site is blocking our request for the image. You could save the file to your computer and upload it directly.

Now it is happening with almost 90 percent of pictures and images I try to import from Pixabay.

I asked other writers on that same platform what the reason was that I was having this recurring issue. The way one gentleman broke it down all seemed like Greek to me at first. Anyhow, here is how I understood him.

This same gentleman explained to me that Pixabay is utilizing more sophisticated formatting for its pictures and images than it did in the past. The HubPages writing platform has simply not caught up with this same upgrade in digital technology.

I responded to this gentleman that I never experience those same problems on the Hive writing platform. He told me that obviously the Hive writing platform has caught up with the required technology to import pictures and images from Pixabay with ease. Yep, you got it! Hive is more advanced than HubPages in its image-import technology.

Other Hubbers urged me to use the download feature on the HubPages writing platform instead. I complained that it gets more involving than the other way of doing it, and downloading pictures onto my computer over and over again only takes up space on my hard drive. In other words, I have to go through a myriad of steps and procedures to download a picture and then embed it in my HubPages article.

If Hive has upgraded its picture-import technology, you would think that HubPages would do the same. Of course, HubPages has a spelling-check feature, whereas Hive doesn't. I have the right mind to wish upon a star that the people in control of HubPages and the people in control of Hive would produce a HubPages-Hive centaur where writers could reap the benefits of both writing platforms.

Okay. Don't any of you laugh at me. I know that the idea of a HubPages-Hive centaur seems somewhat outlandish. However, you get used to the conveniences of one writing platform, and then you have to readjust yourself to the characteristics of another writing platform. Even the two unmentionable decentralized platforms have slight variations from the Hive writing platform in how you can compose articles on them and publish them.

Oh, well. Unless I set up my own blog site through WordPress or one of those other types of establishments, I can't have everything. I've heard that people who have their own blog sites even have to take some hard knocks here and there.

The fact of the matter is that the Hive writing platform and the HubPages writing platform will never merge with each other. The Hive writing platform uses cryptocurrency, whereas the HubPages writing platform pays their writers through PayPal. That one difference between the two is the most noticeable one.

The HubPages writing platform allows advertising, whereas the Hive writing platform doesn't. I'll just accept both writing platforms the way they are and roll with the punches.

This Article Is Copyright-Protected.