Some thoughts on HIVE and HBD price

in #hive3 years ago

So it happened again:

image.png

HBD pump

Hive pumped some, but HBD pumped with it, again.
Again, there is no way of securing any gains without moving HIVE through an exchange.
The HBD even pumped as high as 1.3 US and I did the math: There were no gains to be made using the conversion feature.

This is frustrating. So I checked coingecko and realized this:

image.png

Upbit and Bittrex both trapped a lot of funds, when they retroactively changed their TOS to KYC and blocked all withdrawals.
I do not know about Upbit Indonesia, but the other 2 make up possible millions of USD of locked assets.

People can still trade on the platform and influence markets, but they can never withdraw... so that is probably what they do out of frustration, or to benefit on some other end: price manipulation. The coins are locked at the exchange anyways.

The big HBD pumps happened on upbit.

There is only so many people who have the liquidity, insight and access to profit off of those arbitrage opportunities.

I am pretty sure I am looking at some form of manipulation, I just do not fully understand it.

Whoever is doing it, probably uses the internal market to buy the HBD before moving them to upbit.
Perhaps, I should pull that data myself; The txs maybe obvious and easy to find.

Does anybody have more insight on this?

Also:

$ price prediction $

I am powering down. I will probably stop at somewhere between 20 and 30k.
The rest I want liquid- I am expecting a pump.
It is just a gut feeling.
...and I have been wrong before.
However, I feel like we are going to see 0.8$ HIVE soon.
I would not be surprised to see it in the 1-2$ range.
If it happens, it will be another challenge to sell at the top.
I will also be facing the question of what to sell it for, as HBD might pump just the same (on fucking upbit, right, lol?)
Anyways, part of my prediction is that it will only spike.
It will drop back down to the 0.5 range we are on right now.

Again: This is just what I feel like. I can not analyze charts or anything like that.
Do not take this as trading advice!
...or perhaps take it as some form of advice, just do the exact opposite.

Preis

If you feel like talking price, leave a comment.
Also, here's a link to my new Discord dedicated to #price: https://discord.gg/7Sr9j9Ga
The link will expire within 24h.

I am building a verification bot, but it is inactive right now.
I just want to populate the server a bit more, before I will open it to the public.

Sort:  

If I imagine that very few could take advantage of the pumping of #HIVE or #HBD due to the restrictions that exchanges have, I also believe that pumping occurs for a very few minutes. Friend, the price of #HIVE will continue to rise or I believe it may have a cap.

To the moon!

That is very good news

We share the same thoughts. I just think that HIVE will probably settle a bit higher than 0.5 .

"I am pretty sure I am looking at some form of manipulation, I just do not fully understand it."

A 100%! For me personally SBD and HBD were/are the worst kind of "stable coins" in existence. Few people who know the inner workings of these shitcoins will know how to exploit it. I don't care about the exploit part, I just want One coin that represents Hive blockchain. That is why I'm not invested as much as I could be, or would I ever think about a larger move as long as this "stable coin" lives.

...but there potentially is a new opportunity to exploit, since HBD is restricted to only 3 exchanges... which have locked assets.
That was what I was trying to point out.

I like the idea of a stable, USD pegged coin, but it is not necessary and it seems too complicated and troublesome for the benefit it has.
I do not like exchanges and having an internal trading pair for 0 order fees is kinda neat.

HBD went as far as $1.4, I was surprised. I swapped the HBD I had at that instance. luckily for me, I had stuff to buy and pay for in school. It just made it more easier for me.

I've come back to this thread. We really need some kind of cross-chain atomic swaps with HBD and other assets.

You have your phone number in your profile?
bold move, lol

If they are unable to withdrawal one asset or another this can influence prices on a certain exchange in a way that when a user wants to profit from these price differences, it is still impossible. Upbit has HBD in the Korean site for trading. Only Koreans can trade there because of Korean law. There are fewer ways to invest money in Korea than in other places. Koreans understand technology and are on average more likely to be interested in crypto. So cryto-currency prices are higher.

A Korean should be able to buy Hive, convert some of that Hive into HBD with the blockchain, and then sell the HBD into Hive either in the Upbit exchange or the Hive internal market. They wont be able to convert all of the Hive at once because of the way the convert mechanism works. But of the part they can, they should get a nice premium everytime they do this cycle. Some of the Hive remains as a deposit, which will be returned after a few days.

I haven't traded Bittrex since their last EUA update. In the end, I'll have to convert my HBD to Hive in order to trade them. I guess I could trade HBD to Hive and the Hive to USDT. Then I can wait for HBD to come down and then buy back in.

You can pump and dump a coin on an exchange, without moving money in or out.

You also do not need to convert HIVE to HBD using the blockchain feature - you can just use the internal market. There still was enough margin.

Maybe the coin gets pumped at the exchange and then it hikes up the internal market to that price. The 3 exchanges are so bottlenecked, that the demand can not be filled and someone makes a predictable profit at the internal market and can later buy back their HBD(?)

Bold but very reasonable and realistic predictions I would say.

Honestly I havent been watching the HBD price of exchanges a lot as I take everything through the internal market here. But indeed, totally 100% thought out by someone who knows the game very well.

After all...arent all big moves on smaller coins manipulated by whales in their benefit. Wouldnt be a surprise

I still seeing the HBD-BTC in a narrow range recently and expect that to continue.

Does anybody have more insight on this?

Yeah! I have some. But you will have to click a lot and play the role of a good soothsayer to decrypt this post first and extract all the embedded hidden insights.

Again: This is just what I feel like. I can not analyze charts or anything like that.

Oh! if you can not analyze charts or anything like that, then better you trust only in your hunches. LoL