why selfvote is ok

in #hive3 years ago

For future reference or anyone who is interested:

Voting your own post or comment is perfectly ok.

If it was not ok, anyone could just create a second account and then vote their own account.
All a prohibition on selfvotes would do: People who want to cheat, would just get a second account and those who play by the rules would lose out.
It would be a rule that could not be enforced equally and thus would be a stupid rule.
Without KYC type of account registration (which I certainly do not want) there is no way to tell, who owns which account.

TL;DR: selfvotes will always be possible anyways because sybill attack, so don't punish those who play with open cards.

Sort:  

Back in the days there was a checkbox, checked by default to autoupvote your post when creating creating, it was removed only because voting instantly makes isn't optimal in matter of rewards (that part is going to change with upcoming HF25, btw)
Rule of thumb: don't post shitty content that is not worth of your vote :-)
i.e.: if you don't think your content deserves your own vote, you shouldn't post in the first place.

With 50/50 author/curator, upvoting own shitty content is less optimal than upvoting other people's original high quality content.

Other useful tips for newbies:
Don't be greedy. Greedy people don't end well in a long term.
Even if you are greedy, don't be stupid.
Hive is open public blockchain.
Be decent even when nobody's watching.

Don't be greedy. Greedy people don't end well in a long term.

Sadly, this is not true and I could point out countless examples, starting from the very top.

Forgot the obligatory selfvote, lol

!popcorn

Freedom means you can have a gun, point it at your own head, and pull the trigger.
I'd presume that most folks wouldn't think that the best course of action, we'd have to ask.
Just because the code doesn't, and perhaps, can't in this case, prohibit the behavior concerned doesn't stop others from forming their own opinions and acting accordingly.

We are supposed to be bootstrapping a currency here, giving it all to yourself looks greedy.

You don't do that, and that is good, imo.

If you want in on the flagging consensus, here is the discord some of it happens in.
We welcome all voices.
That don't annoy everybody too much.
They know who they are, we tell 'em.

As I wrote above, it is not so much a code problem, as it is a game theory type of problem; you could always cheat by sybill attack, unless there is some form of account verification process and that has to involve manual review...

... I have no idea, what the flagging consensus is, but I think Hive has a pretty brilliant consensus vote protocol thing built-in - It just needs to be used more and tweaked a little, perhaps.

If people were social here they would be able to recognize sybil attacks and downvote them.
That is what that community effort is about, and why it needs input from more users.

Well there's not much point in banning them when there are ways around that. Doesn't mean they are 'ok'. That is up to the greater community to judge. I give less votes to those who regularly self-vote, but I judge each case in itself.

I'm happy enough with what I earn curating others and self-voting the odd post would not make much difference to what I make. I may get judged if I do self-vote and it feels wrong anyway. Who am I to say what my posts are worth? It's not just about making money.

No vote for you, but you can have a !BEER

Like I said above: I see nothing wrong with my own selfvotes.
I made like 10 posts the last 2 years and those I voted without hesitation.

If I had a benevolent whale upvote each of my posts, how would that make it any different? After all, I could be a sock puppet account of that whale.

Whether I vote for a post or not, or even downvote, I decide by other factors like content, context and potential payout.

I left this comment for future reference mainly. I think, I explained my point pretty congruent in the OP :)

We can each think that what we do is okay :)

I think it's best to have freedom, but as I said, you get judged on what you do. Some will do the research into whether an account is a sock puppet. There are accounts that upvote every post and comment they do. That is selfish and I downvote some of them. Any behaviour should be assessed in context. I just decided some time ago that I didn't want to self-vote. I may have done it few times accidentally, but cancelled those out.

My voting on other accounts is mostly manual and I don't vote on my alts. I am happy to declare what those are if anyone cares.

It is okay but should not be encouraged

It is like going to a Restaurant and seeing the Chef eat next to your table.

Posted using Dapplr


Hey @felixxx, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I typically self-vote if someone downvotes my post, or if I feel like my content is "worthy enough" for hive. I also run multiple accounts, but each of them have a different purpose.

So... which of your accounts should I follow?

I am completely OK with self-upvoting. After all, I like my posts :)

I don't upvote my comments. Never!

Sorry I missed the time window for the upvote of your article.

Thanks anyways :)