The date all changes! ๐Ÿ‘€๐Ÿ’Œ

in #hive โ€ข 2 years ago (edited)

(When you make a decision...)

Small victories can accomplish huge results

This is sort of a motivational call to the HIVE community... but first, let me show you something SO NICE that arrived from Portugal! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿคฉ

Not sure if this exists in New Zealand, but if it does it's probably super rare/expensive. My father used to brew this and it would be common to see my grandfather when eating dessert, dropping a few drops of this in his chocolate mousse. ๐Ÿ˜‹ ...old times!

Now back to the subject... ๐Ÿ—ณ๏ธ

I am calling up (and hopefully encouraging) every single user that still votes for "stale" HIVE witnesses to go there and unvote them ๐Ÿ‘‰ https://peakd.com/me/witnesses.

Why?

If a witness does not broadcast a message saying it's meant to be disabled (because it's retired or is doing some maintenance), and the node that should be supporting it is not running, they will become stale eventually. This makes it harder and messy for voters to see for whom they should vote for and there are some other technicalities that matter too but I won't go through them here.

Example of stale witnesses:
image.png

They are not necessarily bad people, but their voted status is not healthy.

Note: This post has be revised several times, with help of @felixxx and @arcange. If you like their work vote accordantly. See discussions bellow the post to understand more of the changes. Apologies if I made it more confusing for some. That's was not the idea...

How can you change this?

All they need to do is disable themselves by broadcasting the same witness_update (cli_wallet) call but instead of using their own key, use the null signing key:

block_signing_key   STM1111111111111111111111111111111114T1Anm

Then when/if later you are ready to sign blocks again, you can execute the update again to your key. Costs nothing (tiny bit of RC only) and it helps everyone.

Everyone that votes can help!

It's like checking your inbox... but takes only a few seconds (I have lots of emails). You have 30 votes to cast (and keep checking them at least once a month) or you to can assign someone you trust to vote for you as proxy at the end of this page. You will be asked to sign with your "Active" key.

Let me know if with this post I dragged you to check your votes or if you chose to update your proxy, etc... I will send you some ๐ŸบBEER and ๐Ÿ•PIZZA tokens just for the effort.

The Tourette's Petition ๐Ÿ€ progress

Foremost, my deepest thanks to everyone that helped on this one, back from when I posted this here.

image.png
(link to petition)

The Petition was closed on 01/12/2021 and is currently waiting to be presented to the House of Representatives... there were 6866 signatures.

I am not sure if this will be enough to capture the attention or current priorities, but at least is a great representation that there is a problem around to be recognized.


๐Ÿ–๏ธHIVE5's!

Have fun, good luck on all the gaming, and lots of teaching "how to play" to new players.

๐Ÿค Twitter - @forkyishere ๐Ÿ˜ˆ (@forykw dark side)

For #news about the #HIVE blockchain, and other stuff. I am following all users!

In addition, if you are looking for a nice place to either reach out, share or just have a great time, come along to @atexoras.pub gatherings. We welcome everyone on the HIVE blockchain.

๐Ÿ‘‰ Vote for Witnesses

Hive-Engine here (voting uses staked WORKERBEE)
HIVE here (voting uses staked HIVE)

@forykw is running ๐Ÿ˜Ž @atexoras.witness ๐Ÿ‘ˆ Quick Vote


๐Ÿ Hive Blockchain Games ๐ŸŽฎ

YearTitlePost link (๐Ÿ‘†4+โ„น๏ธnfo)
2021The ecosystem is expanding!
(credit @solymi)
2020The power of having fun!
(credit @doze)

๐Ÿ’ณ Cryptocurrency Cards

Crypto.com ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’žCrypterium (forgot)TenX (retired)Revolut (wen?)Wirex (fuckdup)

by @forykw

Sort: ย 

Always nice to have a reminder to check these settings. Proxied my votes to you @forykw as it seems you're pretty on top of everything here.

Somewhat related, I'm in the process of HIVE Engine witness (probably more attainable for me to help with, even if it's a "backup" witness), syncing can take a while though!

Cheers!

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

Proxied my votes to you @forykw as it seems you're pretty on top of everything here.

Far from on top... but I check/change my votes, occasionally. Thanks for the vote of trust.

Somewhat related, I'm in the process of HIVE Engine witness (probably more attainable for me to help with, even if it's a "backup" witness), syncing can take a while though!

I can help with that...

Download a snapshot from https://primersion.com/he-witnesses (Snapshot section) and it will speed up the process of sync. Use axel download tool to download as it will be the fastest your link can do.

Let me know any questions.

Nice to know there are more witnesses coming =) 2nd layer or first... all it matters is for people to learn more. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Wow, thank you! The updated snapshot will likely make a huge impact - the guides and other sources I found had much older snapshots, I think you just shaved several days off of this - thank you!

I used to do snapshots daily until the snapshot size went through the google drive free size limit... but if you have a bigger capacity google drive account... feel free to check this:

https://peakd.com/hewitness/@atexoras/presenting-he-ss-hive-engine-snapshots-service

I was just reviewing my votes couple days ago and have few votes left. asked good ones to vote. Is any to recommend...

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

You can check via the explorer who is voting for who... https://hiveblocks.com/@forykw

I use mixed/balanced voting... between supporting the chain and developing new initiatives/software and so... balancing is not easy... people think 30 votes is too much... but I would need more to represent my real appreciation. So for me, it's rather short... 30... hence sometimes it's a hard decision that makes me go search for what matters to me and the community I envision/support.

Forgot the !BEER and !PIZZA !LOL

Cachaรงa reservada de Portugal!!! Must be great. We like aguardente a lot!!!

Cheers.

Going to keep our drinks?! If drinking, call me! Haha

!LOLZ!

Mas esta รฉ ร  base de vinho, e nรฃo da cana do aรงucar... como maior parte dos bagaรงos em Portugal sรฃo feitos.

O meu pai fazia da pura (70ABV)... nรฃo รฉ como estas que tรชm que respeitar os 40% se nรฃo levam com taxas em cima que atรฉ doi...

Qualquer dia compro uma destiladora e vou me entreter a fazer com as uvas daqui... รฉ pra mim de qualquer das formas LOL

Interessante... Acho q nunca provei aguardente de vinho.

Achei garrafa parecida com vinho. Mas zoom consegui ver.

Legal!!!

Tks for sharing

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

Olha sรณโ€ฆ a bonitinha ๐Ÿ˜

Nรณs tambรฉm usamos disto pra fazer o banana split lolololโ€ฆ mas normalmente รฉ do mais barato.

Especially if a witness is not updating its price feed for days, then there is NO reason for that witness to be voted for.

Not true.
Why would you say something like this?

Well, if you are stale for months and without price feed updating for months/years... what's the point?

But let me know your view...

I am signing the blocks alright, but I don't update my price feed.

https://peakd.com/witness-category/@felixxx/price-feed

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

...maybe... just because things work... it's not why all is 100% alright?

From your comment... on your post.

Since I did not even enter the top 100, my price feed is not important at all.

Why you say this? Where in the code you can find this?

Why you say this? Where in the code you can find this?

I can actually show you where and how the average is calculated.
Do you want me to? Will you edit the post and stop spreading misinformation?

Yes if I agree with your answer...

It says so here:
https://gitlab.syncad.com/hive/hive/-/blob/master/doc/witness_parameters.md#L9

However, here's the median price feed:
https://gitlab.syncad.com/hive/hive/-/blob/master/libraries/chain/database.cpp#L4310

  for( int i = 0; i < wso.num_scheduled_witnesses; i++ )
  {

At first glance, that actually looks like it could be 21, not 20...
I looked into where that num_scheduled_witnesses comes from, but that also looks like it should be 20:
https://gitlab.syncad.com/hive/hive/-/blob/master/libraries/chain/include/hive/chain/witness_objects.hpp#L171

Anyways,

I have pointed you to the code.
...it always said in the official repos that only the top 20's price feed gets used.
I can't see where that happens, though. I trust it still does and I am not reading the function right.

Ok... as I don't either believe "days" will make a difference in an average... I rectified the comment to "weeks". Which can "most likely" make a huge difference, depending on how many do the same.

Post updated. Tks for all the rollercoster. At least it made me learn more. Hopefully I provoked the same and it wasnโ€™t a waste of time (I would hate that).

The median feed prices being actually protected by the top 20 witnesses if all (or at least most) of them have correct feeds, its a good thing (and u where right about it, I was wrong). I think half way of our discussion I was thinking on average and not medians, hence all the discussion. I blame time.. was in a rush with other personal stuff.

Either way, its a very easy thing to automate and that is why I also never understood why witnesses choose not to do it. Sure its another thing on the ledgerโ€ฆ but its so tinyโ€ฆ and eventually something that can go into a separate chain if needed, freeing the main chain from things like this. Could even rely on other signals, such Dexes or the internal market itself.

Will check you out more in time. I have some stuff you posted in the past that I want to read and research.

Do you have an open RPC (and/or history)? And if yes, how close is to NZ for me to test if I could have better usage of it?

In the post you are still writing that a stale pricefeed was bad for the blockchain.

I am a backup witness and get included into a round every 6 hours.
The price is the median of medians, actually.
If my value is off, it won't be used for any claculations.

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

In the post you are still writing that a stale pricefeed was bad for the blockchain.

I disagree. I am just focusing on the stale ones... price feed up to anyone. But I need to describe the fact that those witnesses are not wishing to be "witnessing" for that long... the best way I can find that is to show for how long they are not updating the price feed.

I can say any non top 20 witness can set the price feed to anything that does not matter but that would be completely contra-sense for the reason that variable exists and also confusing. And I would need to explain a lot more that people will not care to read or would necessarily understand. So, I opted to use the time you are not updating the price feed with the stale witnesses. I think its fare... if you are stale for a long time that matches the time you don't update your witness price feed... I don't think that witness should be voted, period. my view... my opinion. You don't need to like it.

PS: I can add this comment there if you feel that's useful for others that read.

I think people should not vote for witnesses who have a hard time keeping it simple and truthfull. Just my opinion.

๐Ÿ‘ the truthfulness is something that takes time to learn (unfortunately we are not gods)... but eventually (or hopefully) we get there, even if experience takes time to master. The hard time I am having to know you better, so I can learn more, does not even compare with the feelings you create when writing (being in this post or others).

I have nothing against you mate... but you could be a bit less negative and a bit more helpful. My opinion. Also, aggressiveness "might" be your thing (can't really tell yet)... but it's not mine (its my interpretation of your posts, but I might be fooled by not knowing you better, so take that into consideration).

I need to carefully choose my words before addressing you. Otherwise it will not be a very pleasant conversation at least for me. I learned at least. That's what matters to me. But I wished I could just have learned in a more healthy/fun way. Not your kind of business?, maybe... but hey, for me it has value.

I need to rethink with more time about this interaction and learning experience. Talk again in a few days.

Cast my vote and deleted my broken ones.
!PIZZA
Congrats to that fine bottle of liquid gold. Cheers and dont't forget the !BEER before yu open it up. You should not be thirsty when drinking brandy. Otherwise that bottle will be empty very fast.

This bottle is going to make a movie... I don't know how... but it has too.

It's damn hot in here, so drinking these kinds of spirits is less appellative compared to when its winter, like there for example. But this one will have a destiny... there is a premeditated place for it to be doing the premier, aka on a special Portuguese dessert... (tinny bit, not much), then I will have it as an exceptional drink to recall old moments (where I only smelled it).

I need to remember to take photos... I always get so involved in these moments that I forget.

!BEER and !PIZZA at chef style!

Maybe I put it in my next short movie. I am thinking of funding one through a proposal this year. As I have only small chances to get funded properly by the governments film funds #hive could be the alternative to produce my short film.
!LUV

There are/were inactive witnesses. For example I removed a vote from (unapproved) @busy.witness, and I voted for (approved) @felixxx in the recent past. The busy.org platform is no longer even exists. Probably I should also check my other witness votes, and I should remove votes from (unapprove) inactive witnesses.

I give you some !PIZZA and some !LUV.

Happy New Year.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

The ones that most matter are the ones that say "stale". Inactive ones can be normal as long the price feed is being updated.

Thanks for checking.

!BEER and !PIZZA


@xplosive(2/4) gave you LUV. H-E tools | connect | <><

Cheers on that sweet sweet bottle :-)

Already tasted it a bit... it's quite punchy. Brought up so many memories as well. ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜Ž

I know that bottle ๐Ÿท

Itโ€™s gloriously waiting for me to open itโ€ฆ ๐Ÿ˜‹

Congratulations @forykw! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 98000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 99000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 3
Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
forykw tipped fwxiii (x1)
xplosive tipped forykw (x1)
forykw tipped xplosive (x1)
solymi tipped forykw (x1)
@forykw(3/15) tipped @solymi (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I did some research on nft before. I'm sure the games are a lot of fun. I think it takes some investment. It's hard for me for now, but I'll stay tuned. I played the game called popmunda for years. The person I'm dating there is my real-life husband. ๐Ÿค— I also played a game called clash of clans and even on my wedding day, I attacked another village with my soldiers. ๐Ÿ™ˆ In short, I love playing games and it's great to see that there are games on this platform too.

Lotโ€™s of them indeed. And lots coming.