Part 1: "Why Hive is probably broken" - View from an OG

in #hive3 years ago

Dear sweet Hivers,

I want to start this series not as attack on Hive, but as someone who has been around from the start and also been outside Hive for a while, I wanted to give my view on Hive and why Hive is probably a failed experiment. I am writing this series because I emphatize with the people who I have seen spend so much time on this platform and have not been rewarded as if they would just have held other coins. I am going to give my take on Hive in small blogs. At first I was thinking of writing a long post about this, but I notice there is so much to talk about, and also I don't want to waste too much time on this platform as I have put in. Also my small blogs wont be a cohorent story but rather pieces of a puzzle, that hopefully will be insightful.

It all began with "Steem"
In 2016 Dan & Ned created Steem as an experiment to create a new kind of decentralized social media. Steem was always an experiment of which the value has never been proven. Dan was not a social person and Ned was not a good leader or any kind of entrepreneur. Steem was made off the back of two people who were not fit to make a crypto social media platform.

Dan was a Mark Zuckerberg in this case, the only difference is that Zuckerberg made something that people actually wanted to use, and Dan was not so lucky.