You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Core development proposal year 2

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

The way I see it, things moved out to hivemind for that exact same reason, because that's not core of Hive, it could be much more and now under hivemind it is in python which many developers are familiar with, anyone could contribute. I just wish we could focus on core code so more use cases could be explored like the one with recurring transfers. Economic experiments, light tokens perhaps (not smt but lighter with just token creation parts), etc.. I completely agree with frontend workload 😅 and many frontend already have backend, there is always enough things to do.

It is just my opinion, but going back to experimenting new things on core is much more beneficial in long term, we have good and growing userbase on social side. Slowly expanding into other areas what makes blockchains best is key to bring Hive into next levels.

There's also the fact that nobody is really stepping up to work on communities so someone has to do it as one point.

That's correct, beside blocktrades team not much contributors but also because it has been in refactor/active mode for past few months, now looks like we will have stable release cycle so more devs could join. Our team has a lot of work right now with all rewrites, but once we have some bandwidth, we will allocate some time to hivemind. There will always be some work on hivemind side though, regardless, how you decide I am all for it. 😉

Sort:  

Well to be fair things moved out of hived for many reasons, one of them being that one.

I just feel like experiments are great but it can often lead to having a solution in search of a problem whereas communities is something that we know will have tangible benefits.

I'm not saying I will stop working on hived altogether, I'm saying I may put in a month or two of work to add a ton of features to communities before I resume my usual hived work.

That's correct, beside blocktrades team not much contributors but also because it has been in refactor/active mode for past few months, now looks like we will have stable release cycle so more devs could join. Our team has a lot of work right now with all rewrites, but once we have some bandwidth, we will allocate some time to hivemind. There will always be some work on hivemind side though, regardless, how you decide I am all for it.

I really don't think it has to be an "or" as in "either I work on hivemind or you work on hivemind" there is definitely room for more people to work on hivemind, you could be focusing on creating new sorting mechanism / statistics while I work on "pay only communities" etc :)