You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Hive For Everyone?

in #hive2 years ago

This post addresses some important things, and it’s nice to see someone that’s been around for awhile talk about them!

Downvotes are tricky to address. They definitely aren’t censorship, and I don’t necessarily think they are personal. Yet, they can really feel like it (especially to new people who are trying hard to be a good Hivian).

Ultimately part of censorship resistance is that any of us can go and downvote anyone, for any reason. Even if it can feel like the opposite, it’s actually a gift 🤷🏻‍♀️

There are a lot of nice initiatives that encourage new people to invest in, and stake hive. I feel I am able to offer a unique perspective on this, as I’ve been here 3 months and have reinvested every bit of Hive I receive. I do this because there ARE whales that curate and look out for newbies. There ARE people who invest in us, encourage us. That makes me want to add my little bit to it all!

If you’re new, and aren’t experiencing this love, I gently suggest not giving up! And if that fails, try a different approach 💚

Could there be more? Could we be encouraging people to build their accounts more effectively? To stay and be part of it all? Sure, there’s always improvement. But I’m not going to sit here and say that newBees are entitled to a bigger piece from the people who have been here for years! That feels spoiled and… well, just not right. I know people are working on this everyday, are helping build Hive in amazing ways that most never see.

So, is Hive worth it in my opinion? Not just for money, definitely not. I spend probably 50 hours a week here 🤣 it sure isn’t for money, or I’d be wacko

For community? YES, 1000 times yes. I’ve made a dozen amazing friends already, and I make new ones almost daily now! 😍 The payout is connection. It’s a uncensored space to be human. It’s being a shareholder (no matter how small) in something that adds value to the WORLD!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this, and offering a kind but firm perspective on the bigger picture 😊

Sort:  

It sounds like you are enjoying it. Some people think we bigger players want newbies to invest just so we make more, but that's not the full story. I want lots more people to benefit from Hive. It's not a 'ponzi' scheme as such as the money gets produced anyway and you don't have to invest a cent if you don't want to. Building your account gives you more options.

Downvotes are just part of the system and I'd hope people could accept that they will happen. If you do fall out with a whale then there's not much I can do to help though. I would hope people can express different opinions without getting driven away.

Have fun!

!PIZZA

IMHO the "censorship" question tends to come up because it seems there are some of the larger players here who downvote anything into oblivion that doesn't fit a certain narrative. I've seen high quality political or social commentary get downvoted just for having an unpopular opinion.
I guess we can downvote for any reason, but in my opinion downvotes should be reserved for low quality posts and plagiarism, not for opinions we disagree with.