Growing Hive? Tips to Level Up Your Comment Game

in #hive3 years ago

The whole commenting on Hive posts 'thing' always grows your Hive bottom line, right? Actually no, for many people it doesn't. And it's why so many people stop commenting on other people's content, I think. The Why Bother? factor.

Basically we ALL want validation and engagement AND we want to grow our Hive portfolios. Even for the odd few out there who claim they're not here for the crypto rewards, it's still about growing audience.

HiveGrowth.pngImage by Hans Braxmeier from Pixabay

But why keep commenting if it doesn't result in new followers, Hive portfolio growth or anything more than a mono-syllabic response?

🤔🤔🤔

Like most things in life, you have to give out what you want, first.

So my pro-commenting tips to GROW your Hive world look like this:

  • Answer/respond to EVERY single, personal comment on your content, everyday. And upvote it as generously as you feel able, in relation to the quality of the comment. My Hive day starts by skimming through my discord notifications and checking my active posts to respond and reply to every comment (other than obvious automated bot comments). If a community curator manually posts a glossy looking comment on behalf of a community, at least thank the individual human curator in response.

  • Reward people who comment on your content with not only an upvote, but with a little extra. Who doesn't like to get some free tokens, right? Me? I use ENGAGE. Not only does that give ENGAGE tokens to the person who commented, but it is followed by extra upvotes on their comment! What's not to like?

Screenshot (714)_LI.jpg

It's an awful lot of bother to go to for 0.05 though, right?

If you want to see the potential of commenting to grow your Hive portfolio, go check out the ENGAGE THE WEEKEND post, which goes up every Friday. It's the brainchild of @galenkp and attracts some heavy-hitters in the Hive comment world.

Screenshot (713)_LI.jpg

But what REALLY levels up your Hive comment game?

  • Go and comment on the latest post of anyone who commented on yours. And be amazed how quickly you will develop a loyal nucleus of supporters and also gain new followers almost every day. Basically close the loop. Give back.

The final step?

  • Randomly comment on 2 or 3 people every day who are out of your immediate inner circle. Click on your Following Feed every time you sit down to Hive and just choose the 2 or 3 newest posts. Read, upvote and comment meaningfully.
  • Following someone new? Tell them. In a comment.

Great, consistent daily commenting will do a number of things:

  • Keep you top of mind with a wider circle of people;
  • Grow your daily curation rewards;
  • Give you great post ideas everyday, as you read and engage more widely;
  • Add a level of authenticity to your daily blogging that makes it all so much easier and so much more real;
  • Over time, people are more likely to add you to their Hive auto vote;
  • The number of people following you will steadily grow, which grows your potential post rewards, in turn.

When I first started 2 years ago on what was then Steem, my mentor @kenistyles suggested commenting on 12 posts a day BEFORE you start posting anything yourself!! I've tried to hold that vision and been pleasantly surprised that EVERY time I open my Hive account, there are curation rewards waiting. Consistently.

So who are 5 awesome commenters out there you could/should connect with, follow, engage with and learn from?

@bigtom13
@galenkp
@cmplxty
@trangbaby
@riverflows

Love to hear more about YOUR successful commenting strategies - and suggested great commenters to learn from - in the comments below. Where else?! 😆


Untitled design 12.png

TwitterTiny100x100.png

Find us on twitter @HiveLift

HiveLiftCover6.png

Sort:  

Good strategy, that's what I do if I have some free minutes. I also see a lot of engage comments, but honestly I'm not very familiar how to actually use it.

Great feedback - will be sure in the coming days to post agaun about ENGAGE - the how & why.

!ENGAGE 15

Posted using Dapplr

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Oh wow, thanks for the mention. Very much appreciated it :)

Thanks for consistently showing up @trangbaby.... noticed & appreciated. If there was just one word I could choose to encapsulate what drives success on Hive, it would be "consistency".

!ENGAGE 15

Posted using Dapplr

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks for the mention. I am but a small component here of the greater community and there are so many amazing folks out there to engage with...It takes a little effort but the reward is huge!

You are one of the seriously pro commenters out there that SO MANY people can learn from. No need to blush 😆. It's only when we really authentically comment that the community part comes alive, right?? At least that's been my experience.

!ENGAGE15

Thanks Marike, I really appreciate it.

I learned early on that people weren't going to simply flock to me, I had to attract them through commenting on their posts, building relationships and then nurturing them. Then I had to have some posts for them to get excited, or at least interested in, when they came along to my post feed. Do that enough and good things start to happen. I hope someday that my hard work will pay off and my account will grow but for now I'm happy to take the reward in the form of fun engagements, meaningful interactions and solid friendships as payment.

As always, thanks for your nice words and thoughts.

You're right about having the decent content for people to engage with. WE assume that but you know what they say about Asses and You and Me. 😆

I can honestly say that I look forward to the weekend engagement post every week - it's a bit like walking into a friendly bar and having people move over to make room for me to sit down. As an isolated solo-mama-entrepreneur, there's simply not enough of that in my physical world. But I'm very happy to find it here on Hive. Thanks for building that virtual space. 😍 😘

I'm glad you like the weekend-engagement topic...I wanted to create a comfortable place for people to open up relationships and the smart people are doing that. It seems to be working well. I hope you'll like this weeks topic...It's a bit different although I think you'll like it. I'm really glad you come by each week.

Yes, on the decent content thing...I guess all we can do is apply those three elements I always go on about...Passion, personality and effort. Froom there we're in the hands of the reader/observer.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @hivelift! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP