Proposal: Core blockchain development, testing and documentation

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

Hi,

Hive has been going for a little more than a month now. We have a small team of core hive developers, pretty much @blocktrades' team, @netuoso and myself.

I have been involved in various tasks including the founding hive hard fork, slow conversion of hive on the dao to hbd, various api fixes and more recently I have ported the RC delegation feature from the SMT branch to the current branch, it was quite a hard task because the smt branch diverted quite a bit from the brand we currently use, and there was some changes that I made more on that on a future post.

RC delegations are working although it still needs some polishing, and there are some discussions to be had on various changes we may or may not want to do (this is where you come into play hive community).

That feature will probably go live in hardfork 25, it's been the missing piece to emboarding for the longest time and we will finally have it, All the account creation services will finally be able to stop focusing on preventing abuse from people farming hive power delegations and focus on getting as many new users as they can on hive.

I want to continue working to grow hive, so here's my proposal.

Core development

Most of the time spent will be focused on core hive developments, meaning blockchain improvements, optimizations, and feature requests, and of course SMTs. Having spent a significant amount of time testing them and reviewing the code on it thanks to my previous proposal, I am now quite familiar with the code.

I will be working with the rest of the core team on any feature that may be needed, here are some examples:

  • Light accounts (a wallet basically, that allows people to own and pay with hive way more easily)
  • RC improvements to help scale the chain
  • Partial replays and replay speed improvements, This would help witnesses, node owners and exchanges a lot.
  • Proposal system improvements like partial voting, instant vote display (instead of waiting an hour), payment to escrows etc
  • Transferable account claims
  • Better power down system to reward long holders while not driving investors away who don't want to lock their tokens for too long

Transparency

All of my work can be tracked on gitlab, I assign issues to myself so you can always see what I'm working on, and all of my code is made public and open source.

For instance right now I am working on :

RC delegations
Incoming delegation api
Api bug

I will also regularly be posting updates on chain to let you all know what I'm working on and how it's going. The how often is still be be determined, but it may be bi or tri weekly.

About me

If you don't know me this is my third proposal, I have worked previously thanks to the proposal system on a downvoting tool (https://downvotecontrol.io), and tested SMTs in great length, finding multiple chain breaking bugs.

I have been involved on hive/steem since june 2017, working on lots of aspects of the chain, I co-created @steempress (soon to be rebranded), made quite a few tools here and there to help people automate their tasks and made a lot of documentation to help devs back when you had to guess how the chain worked by trial and error. And more recently have been involved on core chain development.

funding

I am asking for 275 HBD a day for a year. I calculated the price to be about 100$ an hour. So I will be spending between 15 and 20 hours a week on it (assuming hbd stays at 1$ which it often doesn't).

Voting

Here is a few easy links to vote on the proposal :

https://hivedao.com/proposal/97
hivesigner

You can view all View all the proposals on:

https://hivedao.com/proposals
https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
https://peakd.com/proposals

Final words

We used to rely on steemit inc to do all the core development before, they used the ninja mine to pay for devs and while this had the benefit that we could lay back and let them do all the work, and scream at them if we didn't like what they did. That also ment development happened mostly behind closed doors with little community involvement in feature definition, after all, their boss was steemit inc, not the community.

Now that we are on hive, we have the chance of having a decentralized dev team that, through proposal payments will work directly with and for the community. I think these are very exciting times and I can't wait to see what we'll all build together.

@howo

Sort:  

Absolutely have my support 100 times over. @howo is super professional, talented and dedicated. Working alongside the Hive team has been the most rewarding thing I have been a part of in a very long time. Looking forward to many years of growth and development on Hive.

Awesome man! Sounds good that you can vouch for @howo on the HIVE team...Great chemistry is key component to success. Hey @netuoso, or @howo ...What if someone has an idea for the HIVE community? Not necessarily a proposal, but an idea to introduce to other HIVE developers...What is the Proper protocol on how to do that? I have an idea that I have posted already. If you, or any one of your team members could read it, and get back to me, that would be great!
Here is a link: https://hive.blog/development/@steemit-life/a-hive-honey-smart-contract
(So Sorry for posting it here, but I've tried to send you a message in the past Brother...Thanks for your time @netuoso/ @howo) Keep up the wonderful job, and take care to you both!
And please don't mind my name: I couldn't change it! lol:)

I am impressed how fast you guys are pushing progress and constant updates!
This is what happens when you have thousands of dedicated people working (some more, some less) to make HIVE a huge success for everyone.

It seems that you're seeking $100,000 salary in HBD (275 HBD x 365 days) for working a maximum of half a work week. I'm sorry, but while your work is greatly appreciated that feels a bit lopsided. Perhaps this is a function of supply and demand. Your 2-3 week updates will also seemingly be well-rewarded to overlap the salary. I'm a positive person, but are you sure this is the right rate?

Sorry I missed that, very good question ! It is very healthy to question if proposals are overpaid or not and it's something every stakeholder should do !

There are a few reasons being this pay: Scarcity, risk, skillset and marketcap Scarcity being the fact that there are very few devs who are knowledgeable enough to work on the chain, and even fewer who are willing to work hive. This means that I am part of a very limited pool of talents which obviously makes my skillset more expensive. Then there is the product we are maintaining, this blockchain is now worth hundreds of millions, you don't want to have unskilled people when the stakes are this high (chain freezes, bugs, or worse a security attack) could make these hundreds of millions worth 0 quite quickly.

So you want very qualified people to work on it, and qualified people are expensive.

Then there is the risk, and this is a reason that can be compared to the real world, why are freelancers paid so much more than people with jobs ? The reason is risk, you don't have the security of being paid all the time. Sometimes you are juggling between contracts, For hive that would be dropping out of the pay zone which can happen sometimes for weeks (from my experience with previous proposals). Then there are tax reasons, an employee costs a lot to the employer whereas a freelancer takes all the costs on himself, same applies. For every HBD that goes into my pockets about 30% to 35% goes to taxes.

FYI in France I for such a specialized job (blockchain development) I would ask between 800 and 1000 euros a day for the same task. Full time obviously, but brought back to the hour it's between 110 to 135 dollars an hour. Which is about the rate I'm asking here.

Finally on hive there is an additional risk being HBD, I am quite certain I won't be paid 100k USD because the price of HBD fluctuates constantly, and at times it can drop significantly, perhaps one week I'll be paid with hbd worth 1$, the next I'll be paid with hbd being worth 60 cents, you get the idea.

Taking all of this into account, I hope you understand how this number came to be.

Much respect for handling this question right way and with respect. I appreciate your explanation and the variables behind it.

I hope everyone can be as honest as you with how they approach the pool for payment, as there is risk for abuse if not supervised/audited from time to time. There's a lot of money there and I fear that others might help buddies out to milk money for work most normies can't measure, validate, or understand.

Are there continued checks and balances for all, or is it a factor trust in the long run by those who approve the proposals?

Thank you and good luck with your upcoming development.

Thank you !
Honestly right now it's mostly trust. It's up to the stakeholders to check if proposals are doing good work and unvote if they don't. Luckily most of our whales are technical persons so they can have a good idea if a technical proposal is delivering or not.

I'm lending my support. I appreciate your work on core and on Steempress which I think is a very valuable project too.

I'm waiting eagerly for SMT's because, combined with the community I want to bring to Hive (I had a 1m+ Facebook page at my command until it was deleted) there is such huge potential here.

done with both accounts. Btw can a person support multiple proposals ?

You can support as many as you want.

cool, thanks for the reply

You have my support @howo, thank you for your work so far and looking forward to your upcoming work :)

Thanks for all your hard work and for putting changes out there for the HIVE community to vote on. What a difference a hard fork can make. 👍👍👍

This is what we need. Good developers making it happen. I voted for you on Hive Signer. Can you see if it went through?

it did :) thanks !

Thanks! I appreciate you letting me know!

I just joined, so far am loving it. Keep up the good work!

Definitely worth supporting!

Supporting with all accounts :D

You got our full support!!

Amazing work you have done for Hive. Fully support!

Keep up the good work! You have my support. 😉

Your proposals are all great and you need all the support you can get.

Hive
Developed by the community

100% yes, if you could increase your budget and work more hours I would vote it too.

You got my vote. Keep up the good work! :)

I'm not super technical, but this all sounds like the improvements I want for HIVE. Smoother onboarding is definitely an area I would want to invest in. I gave a friend this week all the tools to create a HIVE account, and as far as I know she hasn't made the jump because it's all just so different to literally every other platform... I think a Lite wallet would help to get people started and smooth out that initial learning curve for someone coming from traditional social media.

✔️

Done.

Fantastic detailed proposal.

Voted for you. Let's make Hive great! :)

Great work...will look forward

@howo @netuoso @blocktrades Checkout our proposal too. Here is a sneak preview, we have also uploaded a few previous videos of our progress. Each and every vote counts for us, Support us if you find it interesting.

I'll check it out, but it's not very nice to advertise on someone else's proposal...

okay @neuoso We just wanted to have some communication and market our app. Thank you for the heads up.

Anytime! Voted :-) Thanks for all you do

I wonder if there is any push on trying to get some of the previous issues on the past HF resolved. I remember there was one in particular that made the site experience completely irrelevant. Most of the rewards went down and moving money around became slower. This made everyone had less money overall.