FB, WhatsAPP, & Instagram are DOWN!!! ~ #wtf?

in #hive3 years ago

But here I am, typing away and reading some great content here on HIVE. No issues for this oh so fabulous decentralized system.

Screen Shot 2021-10-04 at 3.18.19 PM.png

Not sure why they're down...maybe it was planned for some reason? I can't imagine the shit show going on at corporate right now and the absurd amount of money they're losing right now.

Just thought I would take a minute to celebrate what we have here while the biggest legacy SM apps are out of commission.

Long live HIVE!!! I feel blessed to be here and I appreciate all the people who engage with me and help make this place what it is.

The future is bright.

Hive on y'all!

Sort:  

https://www.theverge.com/platform/amp/2021/10/4/22708989/instagram-facebook-outage-messenger-whatsapp-error

Inside Facebook, the outage has broken nearly all of the internal systems employees use to communicate and work. Several employees told The Verge they’ve resorted to talking through their work-provided Outlook email accounts, though employees can’t receive emails from external addresses. Employees who were logged into work tools such as Google Docs and Zoom before the outage can still use those, but any employee who needs to login with their work email is blocked.

Seems a lil fishy to me.....

Well that's what they say. I have doubts....but it's just suspicions.

The only reason why I believe what they said is that borking BGP will create the effect we saw yesterday, and why it took so long to bring it back up.

Bear in mind, with BGP down, there's no getting into the servers remotely to delete any nefarious information that needs to be scrubbed. Users would have to coordinate and go to each individual server, manually connect via serial cable, and then know where to find it on the server. The sheer volume of manpower required to pull off a stunt like this is extraordinary at best and outright ridiculous at worst.

As much as I want to knock FB down a peg, these are not the droids you're looking for.

Independent fact-checkers have determined your post is missing context, and would like to remind readers that Facebook is a safe hub for social media interaction. Sign back in immediately to doomscroll for the benefit of our advertisers and to the detriment of your mental health and share a selfe so we can track you better!

Yup. I'm def spreading misinformation and am not to be trusted.

"I'm a threat to our democracy."

I never did hear what the reason was. I know that some of the major telco providers were dealing with some kind of DDoS last week. It could be possible the attackers changed their target to FB and everything that encompasses. Who knows though.

Who knows? I just feel it was too much of a noob mistake to be the real reason.....too many questions that will more than likely go unanswered.

Things that only happen on CENTRALIZED APPS

Just another reason to love decentralization :)

I just as in just heard a commercial in the dentist office about a whistleblower on 60 minutes last night and how FB and Insta and them are in deep shit.

Probably just another scare, nobody seems concerned with data sharing anyway.

I found this just now. 👍🏿

I heard about that whistleblower too. Figured it would get a "missing context", "partly false", "misinformation" tag on the ole fb and get swept under the shadow ban rug that only fb can do....but maybe it's the first of many death blows. Should be fun to see how it plays out.

How's it goin man? Restaurant patrons lining up to stuff their face or what?

Sitting at the bar right now in front of a fan and still sweating my ass off. Finally got all the tv's up and configured. Sounds system is up and running.

Still waiting on my kitchen sink and prep table. My 2nd chef quit on me for apparent health reasons, ugh. So interviewing another one tonight. Still looking for some servers as well.

But almost there. I'm hoping for this Sunday, but if I wanna be honest with myself, it'll probs be mid-october just with how slow shipping is and getting staffed adequately. All good in the hood, just gotta keep plugging away.

I wish we were there dude. Pura'd kill it and I'll just crack jokes.

Don't worry, she's a chef.

Fuck man, if you're willing to come down to the place you said you'd never visit again.....consider yourselves hired :) LMK!

Apparently they were hacked by Xian Hughjanus.... which is so hilarious. On the downside, the private data of 1.5 billion people might have been stolen.

Hmmmm...I have zero idea who that is. Enlighten me.

Data is stolen all the time, these companies don't give a shit even though they make public apologies that they do.....but they don't. No fines, usually, just a half ass apology and then they go on like business as usual.

It's a Chinese hacker group... but the name entertains me.

Oh totally... most companies only ever admit that they allowed data to be stolen when the data finds its way into the world. I guarantee there have been thousands of breaches that we'll never learn about.

haha, I saw the name and just bypassed it. Now reading it slowly I see the laugh.

Sooooooo many leaks, most come out years later...or never.