[Lesson learned] Don't help people if they don't ask about it

in #hive2 years ago

Hello!

I am not going to go into details, and I am not going to put the names. Maybe that post will be a little bit chaotic because I just type down the thoughts that pop up in my head... I wasn't sure if should I actually write that post though...

But then I told myself 'Common, it's your blog! It's your mini world. You put your effort, your soul in it, so why should you care about it?' I am on Hive for more than 3 years!...Would be I here if I was an incorrigible rules breaker?! I would drown in negative reactions by other users...

I am always happy to help others. So, if I can help I always do it!

Some of you know that I speak Russian and Korean languages (besides my awful English). Some of you know that I live abroad for several years, probably more than half of my life.

I did and do a lot of volunteering in different international projects where people came from different countries and don't speak Korean or English. And I know how much they struggle. I do remember myself when I came to Korea for the first time and my level of Korean was about only knowing the alphabet. But everything around you is in Korean.

When you live abroad and when you work with international projects, the first and very main problem that you face is language. Yes, you can google translation. But...google doesn't translate it perfectly. Sometimes google gives you bullshit. But, I do use google too. I don't hide it. But! I don't just copy-paste what he gives me. I read, I compare, I edit...

But why do I use google?! As I already told you more than half of my life I live abroad and I don't use the Russian language as much as I used to do it before. Maybe it sounds weird but sometimes I have problems with structuring the sentence or picking up a better word haha

Some people may say: 'I don't need a translator, I can do it by myself with google.' And there is an automated google-translation in the browsers too. Yes, but again as I mentioned above, sometimes google gives you bullshit. I see it every day, several times a day.

I remember once my friend asked me for proofreading his business proposal for getting investments for his project. He used a google translation. And there was a part saying *'our main business is a fraud'. Can you imagine if he sent it to the potential investors? :)

I remember when some of my friends (who are not fluent in English) joined Hive and were asking me what is what. I was translating some useful posts into Russian or Korean, and sending them to my friends on Whatsapp. And you know what?! They were asking me why no one translates it into other languages because it seems there are many people who are not fluent in English too. Such an irony, right?))

Some people say that translation is useless stuff and plagiarism while others say thank you...

I am not a translator, I mean it is not my job. It is my hobby. It is something that I know that I can do for others and help them. (Well, yes sometimes I get good money for it. And I am not talking about Hive at all. It is about my offline life.) I translate posts of some communities here and those communities appreciate it. Well, not all of them. That is what I learned recently.

Well, those people who don't like translation and think that it is plagiarism which shouldn't be paid. Then what about books, magazines, etc that are translated into different languages and which are sold all around the world? Well, if be honest, I had a chance to participate in one of such projects and I still get a commission for each book sold.

I like Hive for its freedom, diversity, and good vibes. But there is nothing perfect in the world. And not everyone will agree with you or like what you do.

They say I have many other warnings. Seriously? Were those warnings silent? I am curious about when and which one. I remember only one when my post was stolen by another user and I had to prove that is my post. Being a victim is counted as a warning too?

I will repeat it again. I am not going to judge anyone. I am not saying I am absolutely right. I am just saying what I think. (I hope expressing an opinion is not considered a violation of the rules).

I realized many people are judging others just because they don't agree with them. And at the same time, I realized that despite all that negativity I am surrounded by good people on Hive, whose support is priceless!

In the end, I want to say that Hive is not just a multi-community platform, but it is also a multilingual one. Most of us here have never seen others face to face. We don't actually others. Therefore, I think in any situation we still have to be human and act as human and don't blame someone without learning about the situation.

Love my friends and a big thank you to those who supported me!💖 You know, I always stay positive in any situation. 'What doesn't kill us, makes us stronger!'

P.S.: actually, there was something else that I wanted to tell you but I forgot it while writing that post...


A photo source: Rawpixel