Steemit, Blurt, and Hive - oh my !

in #hive3 years ago

I've been active in the #Steemit community for 3 years now, so I am quite familiar with all the features, processes and pros and cons. Recently I've noticed how much engagement has dwindled in the community. Where once posts were a place of engagement, comments, questions and interaction - now posts seem to only collect automated messages from bots.

In an effort to see what else is out there, I started reading some articles (posted below) and scouring the internet for other options. I was told #Steemians ventured elsewhere to Hive and Blurt. I also read a blog comparing the three in terms of engagement and token value. Not that I - or anyone - needs yet ANOTHER social media platform, but I felt compelled to branch out and explore in search of seeking that once incredible engagement Steemit used to provide. I signed up for #Blurt and #Hive. My first perception is that it's an exact replica of Steemit but with new branding. Here is my review on Blurt:

Finicky User Experience: The UX is O.K - it seems a little more finicky than Steemit. For example - I cannot scroll down to search or click "more" tags to find and sort the ones I want. It may just be a problem I'm having, but it certainly does not happen on Steemit.

Pay to play: Blurt charges you a $3 fee - payable via credit card, #paypal or #crypto to even create an account. Usually I would never pay to play for something that seemingly offers me the same features as something free (Steemit cost me nothing and I have a wallet of over $700USD). But I bit the bullet and signed up anyway. Only to find out ...there are more fees ahead.

Pay to play continued: Blurt charges you blurt for just about everything it seems - posting, engaging with others by making comments, etc. I have no idea how much its costing, but I imagine if you're trying to build engagement you will most likely run out of the Blurt automatically given to you when you start your account. At first glance, it seems I will run out before I will accumulate more. This may be false, but right now I see it as a bottleneck and discouraging set up.

I created my first post and received server issue notifications continuously - even after switching internet/wifi connections and changing to a hotspot as well. Nothing seemed to work. I tried my hand at posting regardless and the image did not show up. Also, it costs to make edits to your post. This is a super failure because a user shouldn't be charged when the platform connection seems to be inferior (I posted from Steemit and had no problem uploading a photo from the same connection). Again, super poor user and customer experience (because I paid for this instead of buying a chai latte today;p).

Would love to hear others' opinions on #Blurt vs #Hive vs #Steemit , and any other blockchain social platforms you're using (#bitclout anyone?).

Connect with me:
Instagram @_breanna.faye , @_b.faye (poetry account)
Tiktok: @b.faye
Facebook: @breannafaye88
Steemit: @itinerantartist
Blurt: @breannafaye
Hive: @breannafaye + @itinerantartist
Twitter: @_breannafaye
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/breannafayemusic
Website: www.breannafaye.com

Screen Shot 2021-04-20 at 10.57.37 AM.png

https://cryptosorted.info/blurt-blockchain-review-a-steem-hard-fork-and-social-blockchain-based-blogging-platform/

Sort:  

Steem, the blockchain network, was stolen by the scammer who bought Steemit Inc, the company. Following that, the scammer and thief outright stole STEEM from many people, millions of $s worth. Including some from myself. I unfollow people that still post there. It's a centralized, illegitimate zombie owned by a scammer and run by thieves. If you have any stake in it, I suggest you get what money you can from it and don't look back.

wow @pfunk - I had no idea. I knew it caused an exodus but I had no idea why. truly sorry that happened to you and others. I've been following you for a long time on Steemit and appreciate what you've done with and for the community. I started the process of powering down but am now going to accelerate it. The worst part is I bought Steem years ago and it lost value, so I have just as much skin in the game as I've "made" which is pretty disheartening for a community and token I poured so much into. Appreciate the insights