Is Hive Blog the new platform to be on?

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

I joined Steemit in July 2016 and was very excited about the concept and the potential of the platform. I arranged a few Steemit Saturday events which were very successful and made some great friends.

image.png
Image Credit to @lukestokes

I haven't written a blog post for more than two years as at the time I was very disappointed with the direction which Steemit moved at that point in time. I therefor left the crypto sphere and was not really involved in Crypto for the two years if not more.

When I woke up this morning and started reading a few of the older posts on the Steemit and to put it lightly I realised that everything changed in the Crypto Social Media blogging world.

I found the following by Luke Stokes which gave a detailed rundown on the history of how Hive was born as a result of a lot issues on the Steemit platform:
How Steem became Hive
Thanks so much to Luke for detailing the events.

A few questions from my side:

  1. Is Hive the new place where all the old guys migrated to?
  2. What is the difference between Hive and Peakd?
  3. Are there more platforms like Hive and Peakd?
  4. What is the suggested platform where most of the old Steemit users are writing
  5. How does communities work and which communities are the best to join?

I really want to start blogging again and make some new friends as I always did. Hope to hear from you all that is still blogging away.

I see a lot of the old Steemit Witnesses are now on Hive: @roelandp, @smooth, @pharesim, @riverhead, @ausitbank, @blocktrades. Hi to all you guys and apologies if I missed anyone out. Please give some comments on your experience with Hive. Is this the place to be? Is @donkeypong still around?

I want to invite all the great friends I made during my time writing on the Steemit platform. Please say hi or leave a comment below.

image.png

Sort:  

Is Hive the new place where all the old guys migrated to?
Yes. Hive was launched and supported by a distributed team that were the old witnesses and community developers on Steem. All the SteemitInc Developers also resigned soon after the Tron acquisition. So very little left there of what you would have seen in 2016-2019.

What is the difference between Hive and Peakd?
Peakd is just a front end built and operated by a different team than the community developers contributing to hive.blog. I personally find peakd better to use, but it's a preference thing.

Are there more platforms like Hive and Peakd?
@ecency is probably the closest alternative. My team have also built a WordPress plugin @exxp (formerly @steempress) that allow any WordPress blog/website to integrate Hive as a way to share their posts here and also allow visitors to log in with a Hive account to comment and upvote on the blog page.

What is the suggested platform where most of the old Steemit users are writing
I guess there's an even split between peakd and hive.blog. But remember that anything you post on one will also appear on the other. As they're all utilizing what's stored on the Hive blockchain.

How does communities work and which communities are the best to join?
Communities are just like sub reddits. I suggest you browese https://peakd.com/communities and see if any of the popular communities relate to your interests.

Oh, and welcome back :)

Hi @fredrikaa, Thanks for the great response and detailed feedback. You have saved me a lot of research time. I will most definitely make more time to engage with the various platform and community members going forward.

Really great to learn about @ecency I will check it out this evening.

@fredrikaa, I have a question which might sound stupid, but you gave me excellent answers yesterday so I thought you might be able to assist.

I am busy powering down my steem to move to Hive for PowerUp on this side. It is not much but it is a start for building my HP again.

My question is:
I want to move some Hive from Bittrex to my Hive wallet.
I will obviously use my Account name : JacoR as the Recipient Wallet address.
The question is what Memo do I use?

image.png

No Worries, all sorted. No memo needed :)

Hi @jacor
I am still a new bee so i am still figuring out hive. But this is how I understand things:

What is the difference between Hive and Peakd?

Hive.blog and PeakD are like skins for hive.They do the same thing (blogging).
But they have different features. For egs peaks allows you to post gifs directly in a post.

Are there more platforms like Hive and Peakd?

Sure. ecency (esteem) and dbuzz are a few ,you can find more at hivedapps.com

How does communities work and which communities are the best to join?

Communities are like blogging groups, they post on topics only of their interest.
As for which to join... It depends on what you like.

Thanks a lot for the explanation @appukuttan66 . I will do some more research to get up to speed with all the changes.

Hi @hanshotfirst, have not seen your name in ages ! How are you doing? Are you still active in this space?

Welcome back. HIVE is much closer to the the espoused ideals of the original STEEM blockchain than SteemIt.com ever was.

BTW, you probably have an account on a third blockchain called Blurt . You can log in with your SteemIt passwords.

Thanks @yintercept. Will check Blurt out. Cheers Jaco

Welcome back.
Pretty much whole Steem community minus some Koreans moved to Hive.

There are many front end interfaces which allow you to blog on the Hive blockchain.
Peakd.com, hive.blog and Eccency are the three biggest generalist ones.

Then there are community based front-ends like Leofinance.io, stemgeeks.net and many more. They only display content with their relevant tag.

All the content goes on the Hive blockchain and all can earn HIVE and HBD as rewards.
Many communities also have their own 2nd layer token (eg LEO) which creates an additional source of earning for upvotes.

There are also games like Splinterlands.com and short form content platforms like D.Buzz.

Its all accessible with a single password and click using Hive Keychain.

Thank you for the comment @apshamilton . I am learning so much today :) I will most certainly check out splinterlands and all you mentioned above.

@apshamilton A question around communities. If I join a community for example GEMS, will my post automatically be posted in this community or do you need to specify in which community your post will appear.

In order for your posts to appear in a particular community (say GEMS) you need to either use the GEMS tag when posting from peakd, hive.blog etc or use the GEMS community front end, where the tag will be added automatically.

People are part of many communities and different posts by a person will be suitable for different communities. A post can be tagged for multiple communities if it is relevant to more than one.

Great thank you very much

Check https://ecency.com, previously known as Esteem, we have rebranded to Ecency.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Looks like other people have answered most of your questions, but here's the official communications channel for hive on-chain where change announcements have generally been made:

https://hive.blog/@hiveio/posts

Thanks a lot @blocktrades, great to see the old names again. Looking forward to start blogging more regularly again.