You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For The Love of God, Can We Finish Communities?

in #hive3 years ago

Yeah sadly we just don't seem to have anyone willing and able to work on the backend of communities since steemit Inc. Which means it hasn't been touched for upgrades in 18 months.

Perhaps we need to find outside help and bribe them with proposal money perhaps?

I think there was someone who came into developer chat asking what would be best to work on and @blocktrades and @howo told him to look into getting good at hivemind development but not sure what ever happened with that.

Each time I look at peakd visitor analytics i realize just how important communities are.

Here's to hoping.

Sort:  

In my opinion, it would be a mistake to start this work before we complete HAF work. The next step in hivemind's evolution is to port it to HAF. After that, it should be no big deal for someone to enhance communities further.

You've probably said this in one of your update posts, but what's the ETA on completion of HAF work?

I'm hopeful it will be ready before the end of the month.

Also, @howo has previously expressed plans to continue work on communities, as I recall from discussions with you and others in mattermost and gitlab.

Yep, I plan on working on it after RC delegations

Can anyone at least spec it out so the community could take steps to hire someone? Like I wouldn't even know where to start. I don't know the skills required, the scope of the work, the technical side of anything that goes into it, etc. I don't have the technical knowledge, but I'd be willing to contribute to the pot to get things paid for and I'm sure I'm not the only one.